We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The White Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in one of the garden rooms; it was beautifully decorated in calming seascape colours and had its own patio area. As well as a kettle and a good selection of teas and coffees, there was also a nespresso machine. The food in the restaurant was amazing with a great emphasis on freshly caught fish of the day! Food is also available in the bar and on the terrace, which many people made use of in the brilliant sunshine, you can even have your breakfast there. What makes this hotel stand out are the staff that have clearly been trained in customer care, they always greeted us warmly and anticipated our needs without being intrusive. They were always there to help with anything we needed, we only stayed for two nights but every member of staff remembered our names, our room number and our likes and dislikes. If only all hotels offered this level of service! We will certainly return to the White Horse and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    168
    43
    33
    5
See reviews for
115
340
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I had booked to stay the night and were fortunate enough to have a garden room overlooking the salt marshes.Better still, a fifty yard walk and we were on the North Norfolk Coastal Path. A two hour ramble late afternoon prepared us for a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening. Again those wonderful views!
Starters were above average and my main course of Grey Mullet with Squid Ink Linguini a real stand-out. Puddings were a bit of a let down after the high standard of what had gone before but all was redeemed by the excellent breakfast the following morning. To put it simply, my Smoked Haddock Benedict was probably the best breakfast I've ever had!
On leaving we were sad to see the back of our spacious,well-appointed room and hope to return soon to this friendly hotel with the great restaurant and stunning location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I thought it was us! However reading your review "Complacent" I couldn't agree more!
We decided to stop for lunch and chose to sit on the Terrace, which we assumed was all part of the same restaurant. We waited for some time to be served when we were told by the waiter that we needed to go to the till area to order, which wasn't a problem had we been told this when we arrived! We weren't in a hurry but we found this rather frustrating! Our order was taken and the food arrived.
We thought it would be nice to have a dessert, we asked the waiter but he seemed far more enthusiast about changing the menus to the afternoon menus on our table than dessert! When we asked for dessert again we were told by the waiter "if it isn't on the menu they don't do it"! But we could have a slice of cake! We sat waiting for what seemed a long time thinking he would be back to clear our plates from the table but it didn't happen! And maybe bring us the dessert menu!
Eventually left feeling frustrated and by this time rather irritated, we gave up! And I went to the till area to pay the bill, I was approached by a young man who I'm guessing could have been a manager and mentioned to him that I thought it strange that they don't do desserts, he said I could have had one, but I said that " the moment had gone" but instead of asking me or even being interested in my gripe he got a member of his staff to deal with my bill!
So sadly we won't be returning to the White Horse as I don't wish to spend my precious spare time in an environment which is frustrating and annoying and full of rules! The food is great, but sadly the staff seem to take too much pleasure in handing out the rules!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fathers Day and a trip to the seaside. What a delightful restaurant, bottle of ale for the fathers as a gift. We dined on oysters, lobster and drank prosecco. Nothing was too much trouble we were shown to a table near the door and it was a bit windy that day so we asked if we could move to another table which wasn't set up and they sat us in the bar for a drink whilst they sorted out the other table. We had booked for 2.45pm in order to miss all the families with young children and thankfully it was lovely and peaceful with stunning views over the marsh out to sea. The food was delicious all fresh and caught locally. Best oysters for a very long time indeed. For desert because we couldn't decide we went for the assortment - definitely go for this I am not a chocolate lover and there were a couple on this plate but my taste buds were tingling with excitement at the different flavours especially the lemon tart. Staff friendly, attentive and still happy after a busy sitting or two for fathers day. A very comfortable establishment you would feel at ease here if you were all dressed up or just in casual boating clothes. I can't find any fault whatsoever with the meal, which is unusual for me but for once it was just 100% good. Carry on the good work everyone, we will no longer visit our other haunt up the road from you anymore you will be top of the list in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I was taken to this amazing place by my partner this weekend as a surprise ..... I'm never easily impressed and I have to say its AMAZING !!
We arrived to a warm welcome the staff are really friendly and a really chilled out vibe makes you feel instantly relaxed .
Taken to our beautiful room ( no 11 ) split level with outstanding views over the estuary. Huge bed ( best nights sleep ive ever had... its so comfy ) beautiful bathroom ..great attention to detail from the great complimentary tea/ coffee tray to the beautiful products in the bathroom .

We had drinks on the terrace in the afternoon sun and dinner in the restaurant in the evening ... Food is fab superb qualityand good prices ... Don't miss out on breakfast as that is like everything else here simply gorgeous .
I cannot wait to come back here again and left feeling like I'd had one of the best weekends ever !!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheekychickxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

visited in may for both an evening and lunch visit, based on recommendation from the in-laws. really enjoyed both visits- the fish and chips were lovely! both visits were busy, but staff were good and attentive, both in the bar and in the restaurant.

Friends had the oysters as a starter, and loved them!

I had the Moroccan chicken starter in the restaurant, which was to die for!

would thoroughly recommend. good value for money and there is certainly something for everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to visit. We were seated quickly and given a great view of the estuary. All of the courses were given individual attention and presented well, the seafood is a must! Thus is all in all a very good place to visit, if dining in the evening make sure you take a coffee outside on the balcony for a sunset view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
2.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
812 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,323 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
874 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
606 reviews
14.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Brancaster Staithe
The White Horse Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing