We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of The Old Stables

The Old Stables
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brancaster Staithe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Stables
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We enjoyed this place. Sure, we could have paid twice as much at the hotel down the road for a perfect room, but we enjoyed the character of this place. Judy's an interesting person, a bit eccentric. Her place is a little chaotic, but the rooms are clean (though a bit of a musty smell in the closet), and the breakfast is good. Her garden is pleasant, and Judy generously let us use her computer, and in general tried to please. Perhaps not for the person who demands well-ordered surroundings, but we really enjoyed our stay and our conversations with the thoughtful and kind proprietor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farawayplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed in one of the B&B en-suite rooms for a night. Clean, good value for money and friendly (particularly the dog!). Would certainly return and recommend. Very near to the beach as well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Likescomfort1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Such a relaxing atmosphere here. We found The Old Stables clean and comfortable, with everything you need in a B & B.
Owner always happy to help, and Daisy the Labrador supplies extra comfort when needed!
Fantastic walks on doorstep and a great dog friendly pub (The Jolly Sailors), nearby, serving fab food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penniless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We (a family consisting of 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 1 child) stayed at the Old Stables for a week in July 2009 . We found the bungalow, in which we were staying, very spacious and practical with an open plan kitchen/diner, living room, 3 double bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Everything was clean and well maintained and the bedrooms were very practical and spacious. Also the beds in all of the bedrooms were very, very comfortable and we slept better in those beds than we did in our own at home! Although the bungalow was not as attractive as the pretty, older style cottages, it certainly did not look like sheltered accomodation (as a previous reviewer had stated); it was just a modern style bungalow. The bungalow also had a patio area at the back which was fenced off, with tables, chairs and sun loungers, and then behind the patio area was a big lawn with plenty of space for children to play in.
The location of the bungalow was ideal, with only a 5 minute walk to Brancaster beach and short drives to local towns like Wells and Hunstanton. There is a fantastic restuarant, in the nearby village of Ringstead, called The Gin Trap, which serves some excellent cod and chips and some delicious burgers. There is a variety of other restuarants nearby, it just depends what you're looking for. If you're looking to buy some fish, there is a fish shop in Brancaster Staithe which not only sells fantastic fresh fish, but sells excellent homemade pies and cakes, as well as fruit and vegetables.
There are plenty of things to do, like golf and horse riding, but we spent most of our time at the beach. We found the nicest beach to be Holkam beach, which is very sheltered and has naturally formed lagoons that you can swim in. Even though we didn't have great weather, we still managed to find things to do.
Overall we had a great time, and if you're looking for basic but comfortable accomodation in Norfolk, then come to the Old Stables. The woman who runs it is named Jill, and she is very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thekelly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The Old Stables is a wonderful place to stay. It's about a mile from Brancaster beach and golf club, a short walk from Titchwell, and a very short drive from Hunstanton, Brancaster staithe and Burnham Market.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank targetrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We stayed at The Old Stables for a long weekend. It's ideally situated for Brancaster beach and local pubs & restaurants. Unlike other reviewers we did get to stay in the stables, rather than the bungalow (which does look like sheltered accomodation)

The furnishings are a bit tatty, particularly in the lounge, and the place could do with a good spring clean. It's as if a lot of work went into the place a few years back and it's been left to slide since. For example, the draining rack was filthy and the bathroom floor around the toilet hadn't been cleaned in a long time.The owner was away at the time so we weren't able to complain. For £235 for 3 nights we expected better.

It's worth noting that the entrance is about 70 yards walk from where you can bring your car, so it wouldn't suit people who have mobility problems bringing in lots of luggage

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tvjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Booked this self-catering accomodation via the internet having seen fairly attactive pictures of a Norfolk cottage, beams, promise of open fires etc. Very dissapointed when we arrived to find we were booked into a modern, featureless bungalow which had all the charm and atmosphere of an old peoples home. We asked the owner about the property we thought we'd rented she said she'd made it clear she'd rented us the bungalow-although on the 2 websites we'd checked there is no mention or pictures of this modern bungalow so we assumed she was talking about the property featured. She made it clear she had people waiting to rent the bungalow so we left and stayed at an excellent nearby hotel (The Briarfields).

The Old Stables may be nice but check which you're booked into, if you're looking for Norfolk charm it's not in the bungalow!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sunnycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brancaster Staithe
0.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brancaster Staithe
431 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orange Tree
The Orange Tree
#3 of 5 in Thornham
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables

Address: The Stables Broad Lane | The Stalls, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Brancaster Staithe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brancaster Staithe
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Old Stables Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing