We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Sky Tipi Holidays
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Had a great time here. Tipis had loads of room and looked great illuminated by the full moonlight. Sarah was a charming host and worked hard every day to make sure we had all we needed. The shower and washing up areas are lovely, clean and had this crazy stuff called HOT water. The covered dining area by each tipi is a great idea and allows you to prepare and eat food and congregate even when raining. Extra blankets were provided as our second night was freezing ! Next day was warm and sunny and the sausages and homemade bread we had ordered were great. Lots of great walks and the local pub was great too. The nearby observatory is fantastic if you have younger ones although there was plenty to keep me entertained too. Would definitely come back to Big Sky. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We just had a brilliant 2 nights at Big Sky. Sarah and Geoff were brilliant hosts. The tipis are huge inside! The toilet/shower block is excellent. The cooking facilities are great. It's also in a beautiful location and close to very good pubs. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertjnwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipiholidays, Owner at Big Sky Tipi Holidays, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thanks Robert, glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you back again soon.
Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was the best holiday my children have been on for years! The site is immaculate and extreley well run. The shower and toilet block miraculously clean themselves. This is an idyllic camp site close to the seaside resort of Eastbourne.

The children played in the woods and fed the pigs. They made campfires and helped with the BBQ. We went to the water park in Eastbourne and we explored Herstmonceux castle. But the best thing about it was the Tipi!

The beds are futons and reasonable comfortable. Remenber to take bedding for the kids as is it only provided for the double futon. Also take charcoal for the BBQ.

Thank you for having us. We really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: take a tipi at the top of the field. Just in case it rains :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicjnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipiholidays, Owner at Big Sky Tipi Holidays, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thanks Nic, glad the kids enjoyed it and thank you for your kind words.

Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

i booked out all 8 tipis for friends and family on 17th aug for 4 days as it was my husbands 50th birthday and my daughters 10th birthday ,the tipis are great loads of space for up to 6 people ,the washrooms are spotless and the views are amazing ,for anyone that wants to have a large family get together this is definately worth doing ,the tipis are far enough away from each other for your own privacy and there is loads of space for children to play with large woods to walk through ,it made a change to see children having the sort of freedom they rarely have now .My husband loved every minute of it especially building up a camp fire every evening whilst the children toasted marshmellows we enjoyed a nice glass of wine and great conversation.The beds were so comfortable we had never slept so well ,all in all we had a fantastic few days and look forward to going again thankyou geoff and sarah x x

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipiholidays, Owner at Big Sky Tipi Holidays, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thanks Lisa, best joint 50th and 10th birthday party we've ever been to!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was our first experience of holidaying in the 'great outdoors' where we spent 2 great nights.

On arrival we found our accommodation easily and took our bits and bobs to the tipi. Large wheelbarrow type things were available to save on having to make lots of journeys back to the car. The tipi was larger than I was expecting with plenty of space for 4 of us to stand up and move about. Our beds were comfortable and none of us had any trouble sleeping. Within our tipi was a chest full of the normal pots, pans, crockery and cutlery etc.

A barbeque and twin gas hob are provided and we found these were absolutely fine for cooking on.

Joined to the site is a large wood where our little ones enjoyed collecting firewood for the fire. We also made a daily trip to feed the pigs with Geoff the owner. He and his wife Sarah are great hosts and are great with the kids. They give great advice and help with any problems, not that we had any! Geoff will even get your fire started if needed, but us townies managed just fine on our own!

The toilets and shower block were modern, clean and hot water was available.

The location of the site is brilliant.

All in all we all had a great time and we were sad to come home. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holibobslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipiholidays, Owner at Big Sky Tipi Holidays, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thanks for your feedback and so happy that your 1st Glamping experience went so well. Look forward to seeing you for a second one soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Have recently returned from a 2 night stay at big sky tipi holidays and wish we could have stayed longer. My wife, myself and our 2 kids loved the whole experience. The tipi's are nicely decorated and comfortable and are well equiped with all you need to enjoy your stay. Was great that we didn't have the stress of putting up and taking down a tent. Also great you can have a camp fire which made it like a real camping experience. Hosts were extremely helpful and welcoming and regularly popped over to check we had everything we needed. The site is very clean and couldn't fault the toilet and shower block.

Will definately return for a longer holiday next year.

Thanks Geoff and Sarah

Look forward to seeing you next year

Dave and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipiholidays, Owner at Big Sky Tipi Holidays, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dave,

Glad that 'her outdoors' enjoyed the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We were looking for something fun to do after having spent the previous weekend at camp bestival with our 2 boys and my wife suggested a Tipi. Having been under canvas for half my hols already I wasn't keen but it was just 10 mins away from the in-laws so there was always an escape route! No need to worry though. The site was great, facilities modern and clean and the tipi itself (owl) was fab. My 2 boys loved it, especially as our littlest, Toby (3) insisted on wearing his cowboy outfit the whole time, furry chaps and all....I would recommend the bacon and sausages from the lovely owners, v good, and stocking up on fire wood to keep the fire going well into the night. The only caveat is the bed which had lovely fresh bedding but was a futon and my back was in dire shape by the morning. However when I spoke to Sarah, the owner, there were other options so I should have checked. We are booking again for later in August.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipiholidays, Owner at Big Sky Tipi Holidays, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Howdy little Cowboy!, thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hailsham
4.2 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleavers Lyng
Cleavers Lyng
#1 of 5 in Herstmonceux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wartling Place Country House
Wartling Place Country House
#34 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scolfes
Scolfes
#1 of 3 in Hailsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boreham House Bed and Breakfast
Boreham House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Boreham Street
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Tipi Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Tipi Holidays

Property: Big Sky Tipi Holidays
Address: Wartling Road, Hailsham BN27 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hailsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Sky Tipi Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Tipi Holidays Hailsham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing