We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Hailsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We recently stayed at The Old Forge for a weeks holiday. This was our second stay and we were warmly welcomed by Philip and Nicky and shown to the same comfortable room as previously. As much as anything, we were looking forward to the attention to detail shown in the dining room and lounge (we were just made so comfortable) but the highlight of our visit was the beautifully cooked meals. Again it was the attention to detail that so delighted us. Many thanks again to you both, Philip and Nicky - we shall return.

Dick and Marilyn Fryer

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a two-night stay at the Olde Forge. As other reviewers have stated, Nicky and Philip do their utmost to make you feel welcome and we really enjoyed the excellent food and general hospitality. Everything is done to a high standard without being pretentious or fussy and that suited us perfectly. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fuzzacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you're looking for opulent and grand, then this might not be the place for you...if however, you're looking for a hotel that is warm and inviting, personal, fantastic food, clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice little touches like canapés before dinner, then this hotel is definitely the place to stay in hailsham. We were a little apprehensive, but Philip and Nikki are lovely and couldn't do enough to make us welcome and were brilliant with our 9 year old son making him feel incredibly grown up and he loved it...I would certainly recommend The Olde Forge to people who are looking for something a bit different staying in that area...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebayleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you like fantastic food, old world charm, and delightful and friendly owners, then this is the perfect place to spend a few days in the Sussex countryside.
This was our second visit to the Olde Forge and this time I didn't have flu, so was able to enjoy every moment!
Thank you Nikki & Phillip, we will be back!
Sylvia & Alan B

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We came over from Western Australia for my daughter's wedding. After a series of horrible hotel stays around the Gatwick area we moved down to Hailsham and stayed in the Old Forge Hotel for 3 nights. What a difference. The people Nikki and Phillip were very friendly and went out of there way to ensure we had everything we needed. The rooms were very clean and exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and was sufficient to keep you going until dinner without lunch. The evening meal was spectacular with everything fresh and home made. The lounge bar was stocked with a beautiful selection of beers and wines and the atmosphere was friendly and comfortable. Even my grandson who is 3 years old was sad to leave. Wish we could spend the whole holiday there. We will visit again.

Room Tip: Wisteria room has a separate private bathroom and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Didn't quite know what to expect as we hadn't visited the Olde Forge before. Well, the venue was excellent, the food was excellent and the service was excellent - what more could you ask for? Thank you Nicky and Phillip for your contribution towards making it a lovely day for Dad. We will most certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just spent a second stay at the Old Forge Hotel and we love it.Love the atmosphere and the very warm welcome that Nikki and Phillip greet you with.The hotel is very clean,the food is excellent.Will most definitely be going back again.The hotel has only two star rating but Nikki and Phillip are five star people.Thankyou.

Kind Regards Julie and Barry Foreman xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hailsham
2.4 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
7.7 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
834 reviews
4.6 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
219 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Magham Down, Hailsham BN27 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hailsham
Price Range: £48 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Forge Hotel and Restaurant, once the home of an old forge, still maintains its original open fires and timber beams and offers guests a relaxing haven away from the busy stresses of every day life with a warm welcome and friendly, informal atmosphere.Situated in the heart of the lovely Wealden countryside this family owned hotel is close to many National Trust properties, historic castles and glorious gardens with Beachy Head and The Seven Sisters also in easy reach. The restaurant – once an original 16th century forge, is renowned locally for its high standard of cuisine and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Forge Hotel And Restaurant Hailsham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing