We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food”

Callenders Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Hailsham
Price range: £10 - £20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A modern restaurant, serving evening meals, and lunch on a Saturday and Sunday too. It is perfect for a romantic meal for two, or spacious enough for dinner for forty. Tastefully decorated by local artists and fully wheelchair accessible throughout. Located at the top of the High street, where there are no parking charges, it is within easy walking distance of all the towns other amenities, leisure centre , cinema, wine bar etc.
Reviewed 21 October 2022

Have been to Callenders for the steak night plus had Sunday lunches in the last month. The food was excellent each time.

Every member of our group of 8 enjoyed their meals which included venison steak, fillet steak, sirloin steak, T bone steak and burgers.

The Sunday roasts were wonderful cooked to perfection and plenty of choice across the menu with fresh vegetables.

We do not live in Hailsham and choose to visit this restaurant for the food and lovely staff.

I would recommend food lovers to visit. Prices are very reasonable too.

We plan to go to try out the daytime meals during the week in the near future.

Thank you

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daisySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2022

Excellent food - pleasant atmosphere -

The sea bass was the best I have eaten on my trip.
The banofffee Pie was a dream.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank astridlQ2983DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

We were walking the Sussex Downs and Seven Sisters while staying at Hailsham for a few days. The hotel menu was disappointing and the only English restaurant that we found at the first online search was this one. It suited us straight away. Interesting menu, prompt and attentive service, relatively inexpensive and comfortable in most respects. The cooking and presentation was very good indeed. Only criticism could be that staff came over a little patronising - after we went back for a second and then a third dinner over four days.

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank Whatthefeckfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022

We had the set lunch menu which was amazing value and excellent quality. Our waitress was so friendly and professional and faultless. We will definitely return in the very near future. Richard and Jill Lloyd

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank Platinummouse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Killian C, Owner at Callenders Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review us, we really do appreciate it. We are all so glad that you had a nice time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

Moved to Hailsham a few months eaten here a couple of times now. Tonight after a day at Bodiam Catsle we chose to try a take out. Easy to order, and after a short wait to amazing local venison burgers with sides arrived. Beautifully cooked food, excellent customer service from start to finish. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank janemO451JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Killian C, Owner at Callenders Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

We are so glad to be able to cater for you both here and at home. Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review us and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, from all the Staff at Callenders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Callenders Restaurant also viewed

Hailsham, East Sussex
Hailsham, East Sussex
 
Upper Dicker, Hailsham
Hailsham, East Sussex
 

Been to Callenders Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.