We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very poor”
Review of The Jester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jester Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Baldock B&B and Inns
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food very poor”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We went here on the 27th Dec and I have to say I was very disappointed. I ordered a rare steak which came out well done, they were happy to change it and the next one came out blue but I couldn't be bothered to complain again, the chips were also so over cooked they were pockets of air! If you are in the area looking for food I suggest going a little further into Ashwell and try the Bushel or Rose and Crown.

I will not be going here again as my last visit was summer 2011 where I found the food equally poor.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SJGBOGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    19
    10
    18
See reviews for
27
29
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I cannot comment on the hotel accommodation as we only went to The Jester for lunch. The food was well prepared and hot. The staff were excellent and friendly and it was nice to go into a bar area where there was a burning log fire that made it very cozy on a cold day.
The prices were reasonable for pub food and the menu whilst not extensive it had enough variety to meet most palates.
I would suggest that if you are in the area you give The Jester a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed for the one night whilst attending a Birthday party. The room was very comfortable, with en-suite bath/shower. The room and the bedding was very clean. Plenty of tea/coffee, biscuits and even a bottle of water. The hotel owners were very friendly and accommodatiing, no delays or problems with checking in. The full English breakfast is brilliant, starting with cereals or fruit, toast afterwards, tea or coffee replenished if required. Very nice atmosphere. Definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room ate the back, away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Went to a birthday party here yesterday and stayed the night.. Warm friendly and hard working staff. Room was brilliant with good selection of teas, coffees, biscuits and a bottle of water Lovely cooked English breakfast. Party was also excellent and the buffet was superb. Can't praise this hotel enough and will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabeNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

When me and my family walked through the door the first thing they said was "god this place has gone downhill."

I booked a meal for mothers day and was so disappointed. I had to apologise to my parents for taking them! Food was so bland and basic. Fair enough it was a Calvery, but there was no edge to the starters or dessert. It all resembled what I would quickly whip up if I suddenly had company over. Not something I enjoyed paying money for!

Even the decor is bland and boring- it was like I stepped back to the 90s. It's a shame because the building has so much potential but it's just going to waste.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baldock hotels

1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband went to the jester a few years back and I wasn't overly impressed. The bar staff were rude and the menu only offered pizza and pasta!
Wow what a difrence! We went again for a family meal and was blown away at how different it is. the food (ham hock and the stuffed chicken) were fantastic and the staff they were friendly and welcoming. I think the jester has new management and they definitely have a new menu. We were very impressed and will be going back regularly as its our new fave place to eat. Massive improvement.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sa7ahjan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

stayed on friday attending a wedding food was fabulous staff could not do enough for us the whole day was brilliant would recommend this place ,great place to have a wedding

Room Tip: back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldock
17.5 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#12 of 18 in Bedford
65 reviews
4.5 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
85 reviews
4.4 mi away
Templars Hotel and Carvery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
6.5 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jester Hotel

Property: The Jester Hotel
Address: 116 Station Road, Baldock SG7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Baldock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baldock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Jester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing