We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“man alone” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish'n'Chick'n

Fish'n'Chick'n
Ranked #26 of 32 Restaurants in Baldock
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: This is the Baldock branch of this East of England cahin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“man alone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have been going here for a number of years. Can be good or bad, it is a lottery. There is an older Scottish waitress who gives excellent service but if she is not there the younger ones are terrible.Sometimes the food is excellent, sometime not so good. So as I say if you get lucky or like a lottery go here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 777safetyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    7
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Level Contributor
214 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“good quality fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Just had a quick meal here on Saturday afternoon. Service was good and the quality of the cod was good. Chips were nice and not soggy which we both hate. The. Cappuccino we ordered could have been better but overall our visit here was a good one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food in a clean restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Whether eating in or having a takeaway from here, the food is really great. However some of the younger staff need a little bit of customer focus to get the whole picture. It was much better when they had mature staff, but they have to start somewhere I guess.
That aside it is definitely the best fish & chip restaurant in Baldock and I will stay loyal to them as long as the food standard remains.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RupertTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Chips but staff awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

After being barked at for our order as time to choose off the menu obviously isn't allowed here we ordered 2 pie and chips with curry sauce .... The Boy was rude and sloppy and tutted when I asked for a fork as we wanted to eat on the little tables at the front. Food was nice but we had to endure the staff especially a young girl slagging off 3 different customers behind the counter

Nice food but awful experience

Now wondering what was said about us when we had left

Helpful?
Thank RandR_K26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Been here twice in 2 weeks both time service excellent I had the rock each time the first time it was the largeand it was massive the second I had the regular and it was as big as another shops large the chips were not at all greasy and in my partner had cod and chips and was equally as good.
recently went to another restraunt which was runner up in best chippy and wss not as good as this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish'n'Chick'n also viewed

Baldock, Hertfordshire
Baldock, Hertfordshire
 
Baldock, Hertfordshire
Baldock, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Fish'n'Chick'n? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing