We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Templars Cross Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baldock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templars Cross Lodge
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Templars Cross Lodge for a week, which is probably much longer than most other visitors. Sally, the owner made us feel very welcome on arrival. The breakfast is buffet style which means you can eat at whatever time you like in the morning as everything is there ready in your room for you. There is a good choice of things for breakfast including lovely croissants, cereals, cereal bars, cheese, crackers, fruit juice and bottled water. There is a fridge in the room too. Nothing was too much trouble for Sally so if you didn't want croissants every day, you just had to tell her and she would leave sliced bread with a Toaster instead. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom (with even a towelling dressing gown provided) were both very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. There is a railway station just a 5 minute walk from the Lodge which we used to visit Letchworth Garden City. We would have no hesitation in staying here again should we be back in Baldock. This B & B is a little gem and reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms available and I'm sure both rooms are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Lodge is literally only a few minutes walk from the centre of Baldock, but I found no reason to walk into town. Sky Sports & Movies, along with free Wi-Fi and the cleanest and most comfortable room you could wish for, along with the ingredients for a first class breakfast and ample hot drink making facilities make this, at the price, an outstanding place to stay. Recommended without reservation!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiawassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I were visiting family in Letchworth who didn't have the room to put us up so we looked online to find accommodation nearby and we are sooooo please we found Sally's Templars Cross Lodge. We had two days and nights of luxury and cannot recommend it highly enough. When we are next visiting our daughter we will most certainly stay here. Sally was very welcoming and the whole suite was beautiful, certainly on a par with a luxury hotel. Lovely comfy bed and a bathroom to die for. Sky tv with an amazing amount of tv channels and the fridge was full with drinks and snacks. Without a doubt one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. thanks Sally. In the words of Arnie "We'll' be back"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tompie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

How often do you find a place of such high level of quality for such a reasonable price?

I stayed here for one night with my partner as was running the Baldock Beast the next day. Had originally booked the lodge for the whole weekend (as was Valentine's Day on the Sunday) but due to work commitments had to cut the trip down to the one night on the Saturday. Even with this Sally was very helpful and accommodating so was off to a great start with the service before we even got there.

Received a warm welcome and when we got into our room, it was such high quality. The most comfortable bed, an iPod dock, big tv, sky with all the sports and movie channels, good WiFi speed, great bathroom, brilliant shower in a big bath, and really really clean!

The breakfast was DIY but the options were massive and having to run a half marathon, I certainly filled up. Crackers, cheeses, croissants, cereal, porridge, tea and coffee, water and orange juice, breakfast bars, and biscuits was more than enough.

The big plus about this is you're only 5 minutes car ride out of Baldock and could easily walk if you wanted a few drinks.

I really wouldn't stay anywhere else if in this area and will definitely stay here next year for the race if I enter again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallsignViper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have stayed with Sally at Templars lodge 3 times now visiting family and would not dream of even looking for anywhere else. The rooms are warm, modern and comfortable. Bathrooms are great and the whole place is immaculately clean.
Sally also provides an excellent 'do-it-yourself' breakfast with plenty of choice - delicious croissants.
Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed with Sally and her team before and see no reason to go anywhere else. Both rooms have the same modern finish, with Sky TV, docking station, comfy bed and on-suite bath or shower. Set in fantastic grounds, this B&B is a real must if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Have stayed here very often - no point in looking elsewhere. Became my 'home from home'.
Self-catering breakfast is fine by me, everything is supplied, and replenished whilst you are out.
Extremely comfortable room, very clean, modern styling. Garden is delightful, and I have seen the local 'black squirrels' there.
Sally is a delight - friendly, efficient, nothing is too much trouble.
Location is quiet, whilst still being convenient for visiting local attractions, and some not so local.
Short walk to Baldock station, trains from there to London and Cambridge.
Rates are very reasonable considering the high standard of accommodation and service, and I would pay any price that Sally asked just to stay there!

Room Tip: There is no choice to be made - both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldock
2.0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#2 of 4 in Baldock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
0.6 mi away
Templars Hotel and Carvery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templars Cross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templars Cross Lodge

Property: Templars Cross Lodge
Address: Templars Cross North Road, Baldock SG7 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Baldock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Baldock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing