We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redwings Lodge Baldock
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at the redwings Baldock for 2nights on my arrival I enter a reception area clean and small and friendly receptionist. On first glances this building looks like a converted residential home however it was clean and thumbs up for disabled facilities. My bedroom was number 7 it had clean white bedding, tv coffee and tea facilities. If I was to be picky I would of loved more plug sockets as I had laptop and phone and ipad to charge however wasn't a big issue. Bathroom had bath and shower all clean just needs to tiles grouted and somewhat mordenisation to give that fresh clean and well finished room. But for £69 for two nights at 2* I couldn't moan. If this hotel really wants that professional feel though to entice cooperate to also improve star rating the breakfast will have to be caught on fire and started again. I went for breakfast in reception where boxes of cereal sit on a table and boxed orange juice mmmm I skipped breakfast. Please get some cereal vertical canisters in as it looks more professional. Move the breakfast room from the reception to the central part of the hotel it really looked like a social rehab room. Breakfast really was my only gripe. However would stay there again but I'd skip my breakkie :-)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Spleen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Room is a typical travelodge room, the sofa was faded where it had been here since the 90's. Bed was soft but not bad! Good little tv. The shower is always cold, hot water only comes out of the taps not shower head. Bath it is.. Tiny one to. But for the cheap price what do you expect! Oh and a lot of noise outside the rooms.. Banging noises I think it's either doors banging or boiler room? Not sure. Lots of room for improvement but overall, does the job!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Danieldorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have stayed in this place plenty of times and will stay again.its as actually what it says on the tin.don't expect a palace,a bit dated.but least you get good value for the money.plenty of parking space.the conti breaky is a bit of a joke.but hey I like a full english.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bert263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Good sized room, bed making not very tidy but bed was clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water, toiletries and clean. Cheap £127 for 3 nights over Christmas.

Breakfast was as expected for a budget hotel in the UK, toast, cereals, hot beverages and a very sharp OJ.

Overall all not bad for the price we paid which included breakfast, toiletries and Hot beverages in room. Have paid a lot more for a room, which was dirtier than this with none of these included.

Cons - Kennels situated on the front of the property, where an early morning wake up call, with dogs barking every morning from 5am.

- Horrible damp/musty smell in corridor, intermixed with air freshener

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxfilly39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good size room, furniture austere but adequate, king size bed but mattress a bit soft, plenty of hot water, bathroom has both bath and shower. Breakfast meagre - the only juice was orange, cereals and toast available, but no fruit. Reasonable value for money, but nowhere near as good as Premier inns, which offer rooms with really comfortable bedsy at much the same prices and superb breakfasts.

Room Tip: On the busy A1, but well set back. Ask for a room at the back, which will be very quiet and shielded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 452Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed one night Saturday 14 December

We needed somewhere just for one night that would take dogs and for £39.99 including breakfast this was absolutely fine.

The room was a little shabby and could have done with a coat of paint (unless this was a room they kept specifically for people bringing animals) but was very clean which is important. The room was adequately heated and quiet although we only just off from Reception. There was only one pillow each and when we asked for additional pillows and were given them straight away. My only complaint about the room was the shower - because it was operated via the hot & cold tap it was almost impossible to get a suitable temperature.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was cereal and toast which set us up nicely for the trip home.

If we are in the area again with the dog we would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew_wyrobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Can we have an extra pillow? No we don't have any!

Breakfast served at weekends up to 9am and it was cleared away at 9.

Not enough room to sit and very limited toast or two or three cereals.

Rooms tired & furnishings tired BUT more importantly clean.

Ok for a quick overnight.

As the title says you pay little don't expect 5 stars and you want be dissatisfied

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldock
2.3 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
3.0 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Templars Hotel and Carvery
4.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,316 reviews
6.0 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwings Lodge Baldock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwings Lodge Baldock

Address: A1 Southbound Hinxworth, Baldock SG7 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Baldock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Price Range: £34 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redwings Lodge Baldock 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Redwings Lodge Baldock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing