We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Baldock, but not more than an average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Templars Hotel and Carvery
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel for four nights while in town and the location was great, right along the main part of road and within walking distance to quite a few pubs and the Tesco, which made it very easy to get around the town.

The people working there were nice to speak to, some more than others, but overall a friendly group of people.

The complaints that I have were in the room itself, first off the king size bed was two twins pushed together, so the middle of the bed was not useable as it was the gap/seam of the two twins. The twin was comfortable which allowed for a good sleep. When I was there they were replacing the beds, so I do not know if this will be changed by the time the next person stays in the room.

There was no air conditioning in the room, but with two open windows and the fan it allowed for a good breeze to come through and a comfortable environment.

The largest problem was the wireless internet. The internet barely worked in the room and if it did it required at least a five minute wait before it would work, there was one point that it didn't work for 5 hours in the room, which was rather unfortunate. It was much better in the lobby/restaurant area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrFoodieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I cannot comment on the hotel as we have only visited here for the carvery but unmistakably the worst roast dinner I have eaten, albeit cheap this has to be the only draw to make you want to eat here. If your tastebuds like bland, overcooked, processed food then pile it high and eat your heart out. Even the roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds are frozen! Disappointing as this place has the potential to be so much more but the management have clearly gone done the budget roast dinner route and are clearly aiming for a certain target market with no attention to quality. Staff are friendly, drinks are as you would expect from a hotel bar, atmosphere nice. Eat here if your ethos is food for fuel otherwise you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Bertie642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpfull although they nearly forgot the coffee ordered.
The carvery was very good with good portions of meat, vegetables fresh, will certainly dine there again. Well done.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Millroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

First time in Baldock to stay. Nice looking town and a pleasant aspect for the hotel itself. Cutting to the chase, the room looks quite nice on the face of it, with a four-poster bed. Removing one of the posts would have given me a better view of the TV, however ! :)

The dividing wall was so thin that I could hear just about everything from next door.

As far as food is concerned, there are just too many reasons in Baldock to eat elsewhere. The menu is regimented and very basic. The breakfast is a bit of an afterthought, I'm afraid.

Nice people, though seemingly overworked. Much more a locals pub than a genuine hotel, I reckon. Probably not again......

Room Tip: Don't expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel staff were so very welcoming big thanks to Karl and the other lad who carried out bags - beds were comfortable and rooms cleaned on a daily basis - was a very quiet hotel and lovely to sit outside with a drink and watch the world go by enjoyed a full English which was
Included in the price - definitely come back again

Stayed: July 2014
Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for one night whilst visiting the area. The room we were given was very small but comfy and well appointed. It was very very hot and so we were brought a fan which helped a bit but the room was like an oven all night in spite of the window being open and the fan on. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This restaurant has had a face-lift and is now styled Templars. We arrived at about 6.30pm on a Thursday with one other couple eating in the vast space. We were directed to a table by the barman who promptly disappeared. We waited some 15 minutes before a waiter came and took our order. We opted for '2 meals for £9.95' and chose fish and chips. After a while the waiter advised that there was only one haddock and chips left (the menu does not stipulate what fish is involved with this dish). Anyway my wife opted for the lasagne instead and we awaited the meal. When it finally arrived it was soon apparent who had drawn the short straw. My wife assured me that the lasagne was very good. Not so the fish ~ it was poor, dry and encased in a rock hard breaded carapace.

As for Templars ~ the toilets obviously have not been refurbished so grotty fittings that don't work.
The carpet in the main restaurant has not been replaced so looks worn and lifeless. We had not been to this establishment before and will most definitely not go again. Shame as we had hoped to add to our portfolio of enjoyable places to eat. We have fared better at the fish and chip bar down the road and I do not mean the Fish 'n Chicken franchise.

Room Tip: If the rooms are on a par with the restaurant, don't book at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldock
0.8 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
5 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
364 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templars Hotel and Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templars Hotel and Carvery

Address: 20 High Street, Baldock SG7 6AX, England (Formerly Zeus Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Baldock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baldock
Price Range: £48 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Templars Hotel and Carvery 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Templars Hotel and Carvery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing