We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of The White Lion

The White Lion
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Baldock
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 September 2018

This was a Tuesday afternoon in August. Parking was easy on the High Street. We were among the first lunch time customers.

Service was at the bar. Very friendly and helpful.

Seating is very varied - high, low and dark or bright depending on whereabouts in the pub you are as there's not masses of natural daylight.

We enjoyed the food. Some restaurants don't put much effort into salads - but I was impressed by the standard of this one.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 20OBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

Well it most certainly is as far as my wife and I are concerned. Why? Well let us take for granted that the food is well up to standard. We took a Car Club friend to lunch at the White Lion and the three of us elected to sit in the peaceful rear gardens. Not only did we all enjoy our food but the service was fast, friendly and efficient. Prices are very reasonable as well. Needing a venue in Baldock approx. every few months, we shall most certainly return.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Working in the area and visited the White lion for dinner food came quickly, was decent quality and reasonably priced.
Traditional pub atmosphere, good selection of ales too.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Good selection of ales, also large selection of gin and tonics. Nice food not too pricey. Excelent rear garden very popular at weekends.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Very good food and reasonably priced. Staff are friendly and professional. Daily specials which are always yummy!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Luigi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Lion also viewed

Baldock, Hertfordshire
 
Baldock, Hertfordshire
Baldock, Hertfordshire
 
Royston, Hertfordshire
Baldock, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing