We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, private enterances to rooms, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed overnight for a friends birthday in the centre of Thirsk. It was a short taxi ride to the centre from the property, and a short walk from the train station so it was perfect. The rooms were beautiful and very clean, and had a private entrance giving the privacy of a hotel. The grounds were also stunning. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed one night with our 4 month old son and the owners were extremely helpful and accommodating. They went above and beyond. I would definitely stay here again if we need a place to stay in Thirsk.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Peaceful, clean and lovely. Great welcome and nothing too much trouble. Location, beds, room, breakfast, garden - all beautiful. Near to amenities.Had a nice walk and meal at the nearby Woodland Fishing Lakes.
Would definitely stay here again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellami2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely stay. Very friendly. Rooms were very nice and breakfast was stunning. Perfect distance from thirsk for exploring.Would definitely recommend. Really reasonably priced. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benclarke85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast and brilliant location just outside of Thirsk.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and the hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The B&B rooms are in the main house and there are also SC cottages and lodges.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My problem with writing this review is that it will be so good that other people will get the dates I want! The experience is stunning, the support is awesome and if feels like living in a 5 star hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and staff and you feel like you are being loved!. Truly, though I don't want you to go there on a date I want, I have to say that if you want to stay in an easy access location in North Yorkshire and be treated like royalty then this is the place to go to.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergusVoicce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

we stayed in the poplars cottage ( herriot) a very comfortable cottage with everything you need for a perfect holiday.This is one off our many stays in cottages and B & B rooms.
Great hospitality .
This place is a must for anyone in need off a real treat only five minutes from the station

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
1.5 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
947 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
471 reviews
3.2 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.3 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages

Address: Carlton Miniott, Thirsk YO7 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: £72 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplars, originally a farm house, built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually associated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WIFI, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities, make for those extra special touches. A great night's sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast..... Bed & Breakfast as it should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages Hotel Thirsk
The Poplars - Rooms And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing