We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home after our second visit to The Gallery B&B. We see this as one of our special little places to visit for a chilled out weekend. The hosts are very hospitable and could not be more helpful or welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and very charming. The real star is the breakfast. There is a great choice of cooked breakfasts and also lovely fruit salad and cereals etc. If you go, try the wild boar sausage which is delicious. Thirsk is a great place to visit and we will definitely be returning to our special place again soon

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dazlambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our wild boar sausages are always popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
172
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A warm welcome awaited us at this lovely,cosy B&B, in a character cottage, centrally located in the Yorkshire town of Thirsk. The room and the facilities were perfectly described/shown on the B&B website, but in fact exceeded our expectations. There were many thoughtful touches, such as the complimentary toiletries, homemade biscuits/sweets/chocolates and fantastic amounts of tea, coffee, milk sugar etc on the tea tray, along with the offer of fresh milk and iced water, if desired. There were also helpful notices such as about how to operate the TV/DVD player, and the log in and password needed for the free wi-fi, which are things we often struggle with! There was also a large range of DVD's to borrow. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the towels provided for the bathroom were a lovely big size and beautifully laundered. The many breakfast choices were plentiful and delicious and arrived quickly. Our first stay at a B&B for many years and we loved it! (We have come to use standard chain budget hotels to ensure consistency). Thank you Kathryn for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResidentinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you, I'm so glad you found the B&B experience a good one! We love to make our guests happy with those extra touches and always glad to know it is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived in Thirsk, tired and hungry at 8.30pm, was met at the Gallery by the smiling face of Kathryn who booked me in and directed me to a local pub for dinner ... great night’s sleep ... lots of little touches in the rooms that set it apart from others ... fantastic breakfast and the ever welcoming smile and conversation from Kathryn ... i will be back.... Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exeter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. I'm so glad you had a good night's sleep after your long day driving and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An excellent B&B, from the welcome to the comfortable, clean room and the excellent breakfast, Kathryn makes you feel at home. There are lots of films on DVD to borrow and games to play if you don't fancy any of the numerous very good pubs in Thirsk. Parking is the only issue but if you can manage a 75 yard walk and can afford the £2.40 (maximum) for a days parking in the Marage car park round the back (it's huge, you shouldn't have a problem finding a space) there is no problem. Highly, highly recommended.
A married couple in their 60s.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 at the front, can't comment on the other rooms, but it was not noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yblcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Parking is easy, as well as the public car park you mention, you can park on the road overnight from 4pm to 10am for free, with a disc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our first trip to Yorkshire, and Kathryn made us very welcome upon our arrival. Our room was spotless, spacious, and the tea tray provided had homemade cookies. We had plenty of space to unpack and stow our luggage, important to us since we were staying for three nights. Downstairs in the breakfast room we found hiking maps, information leaflets, picture books of the area, and a huge selection of James Herriot books and videos, all available for us to borrow. The Gallery is situated directly across the street from the James Herriot Museum, and for fans of the television show, All Creatures Great and Small, this location is ideal as there are many spots in Thirsk that were used as exterior shots. Kathryn's Yorkshire breakfast is spectacular, with locally sourced products such as her choice of sausages, jams and marmalades, and the delicious peanut granola which should not be missed, as well as fresh croissants. We plan a return trip some day, and The Gallery is our new home away from home in Yorkshire. You do not need to look any further!

Room Tip: Our room (#1) overlooked the street, and was extremely quiet. It had everything we needed, includin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idyllslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are ideally located right across the road from The World of James Herriot and also close to the Market Place with some lovely places to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

back from spending another weekend at the gallery . another fantastic stay . kathryn and steve are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you to make your stay pleasant. we have already pre booked for next year and cant wait to stay again . we would recommend to all our friends and family ,perfect for all your needs.
Thankyou both for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasminejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you, it was lovely to see you once again and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just had 4 nights at The Gallery and what a lovely place to stay if and when in this area.
We had a great room,large and sunny.Great bathroom and excellent shower.Kathryn puts on
A lovely breakfast.Great position as you can walk to village in evening to dine with very good selection of eating places .The Gallery is spotlessly clean,so good to come back to after a busy day and enjoy a cuppa and one of Kathryn's home cooked biscuits.Highly recommend a stay at The Gallery.Thanks Kathryn.Oh meant to say great comfortable bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in rm1 but I'm sure all would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dooley220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. There are some lovely places to eat in the Market Square, just around the corner from The Gallery, as well as great independent shops and cafes. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
874 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing