We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in Thirsk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our stay at the Gallery was an excellent one. There was nothing with which to find fault. The attention to detail and breakfast were outstanding. It was in a quiet street in the middle of some interesting attractions: museums etc. I would definitely consider going back there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a very lovely stay,good advice where to eat and was also offered a discount card to use when paying for meal out.breakfast was excellent very good choice's, fresh fruit, yogurt,full English(all locally sourced) and can even choose a vegiterian.....................

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWScott2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay at The Gallery was a friendly, pleasant experience. Great choice for breakfast. Nice fluffy towels and quality toiletries. Only comment would be the shower could be on the small side if you are a big person.
Across the road is the James Herriott museum well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

May 30 2014
Kathryn had sent instructions re parking in the centre of Thirsk-it was really very simple ,and we were greeted at the front door on arrival.
The Gallery is quite a little gem-our room was very clean with beautiful fresh linen,quality toiletries,hot shower,and very comfortable bed.Kathryn gave great advice for our evening meal and we were given a discount because we were staying at The Gallery.
Breakfast was extremely good-fruit ,cereals,yogurt etc + a full Yorkshire Breakfast(that is,the usual components of an English breakfast,but withYorkshire produce and friendly service)
Would certainly stay again,but for longer!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btm1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your night in Thirsk and we do hope you come back one day for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home after our second visit to The Gallery B&B. We see this as one of our special little places to visit for a chilled out weekend. The hosts are very hospitable and could not be more helpful or welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and very charming. The real star is the breakfast. There is a great choice of cooked breakfasts and also lovely fruit salad and cereals etc. If you go, try the wild boar sausage which is delicious. Thirsk is a great place to visit and we will definitely be returning to our special place again soon

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dazlambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our wild boar sausages are always popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A warm welcome awaited us at this lovely,cosy B&B, in a character cottage, centrally located in the Yorkshire town of Thirsk. The room and the facilities were perfectly described/shown on the B&B website, but in fact exceeded our expectations. There were many thoughtful touches, such as the complimentary toiletries, homemade biscuits/sweets/chocolates and fantastic amounts of tea, coffee, milk sugar etc on the tea tray, along with the offer of fresh milk and iced water, if desired. There were also helpful notices such as about how to operate the TV/DVD player, and the log in and password needed for the free wi-fi, which are things we often struggle with! There was also a large range of DVD's to borrow. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the towels provided for the bathroom were a lovely big size and beautifully laundered. The many breakfast choices were plentiful and delicious and arrived quickly. Our first stay at a B&B for many years and we loved it! (We have come to use standard chain budget hotels to ensure consistency). Thank you Kathryn for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResidentinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you, I'm so glad you found the B&B experience a good one! We love to make our guests happy with those extra touches and always glad to know it is appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived in Thirsk, tired and hungry at 8.30pm, was met at the Gallery by the smiling face of Kathryn who booked me in and directed me to a local pub for dinner ... great night’s sleep ... lots of little touches in the rooms that set it apart from others ... fantastic breakfast and the ever welcoming smile and conversation from Kathryn ... i will be back.... Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exeter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely review. I'm so glad you had a good night's sleep after your long day driving and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
89 reviews
0 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#15 of 23 in Thirsk
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Oak Tree Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: £73 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing