We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in this B&B in July for 4 days and cannot recommend this highly enough. Very friendly and accommodating with beautiful rooms, great location and a delicious breakfast. Thanks so much for the welcome and would definitely be back.

Thanks Donie and caroline

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your stay so much! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed in B&Bs all around Yorkshire and The Gallery just off the town square in Thirsk beats them all hands down. Welcoming hostess, charming room, excellent breakfasts, very clean, lots of information on the locale and tourist attractions and well based for accessing the Dales, York and the coast. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jacqui O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you! We are certainly well placed for exploring Yorkshire being between the Dales and the Moors. We look forward to seeing you again next year - there is still lots more to see around here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been a regular at the Gallery for the past six months, because I haven't found a better place to stay! Kathryn is an excellent hostess, and her breakfast is fantastic. Well located for many places of interest. Enjoy...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you, it has been a pleasure having you here and you've certainly been no trouble! I hope we've made being away from home a little bit easier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Kathryn starts your day with a hearty nutritious breakfast in her welcoming breakfast room. She is happy to answer all your questions while she is busy getting your eggs done just the way you like them. The breakfast are varied and delicious. At the end of a long day spent in a lovely countryside, it is a joy to come back to a very comfortable cozy bedroom. She provides lush towels and bedding as well as tea, coffee, biscuits and delicious little chocolates. We were two couples travelling without a car and she recommended Mike Kenney of Dale Taxis as a driver. It was an outstanding recommendation. We could write a glowing review for him as well. We stayed at the Gallery for eight nights and could not be happier. We doubt you can find a better place to stay in Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Any of the 3 rooms are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I knew Mike would be an excellent driver for you! It was a pleasure having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our stay at the Gallery was an excellent one. There was nothing with which to find fault. The attention to detail and breakfast were outstanding. It was in a quiet street in the middle of some interesting attractions: museums etc. I would definitely consider going back there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a very lovely stay,good advice where to eat and was also offered a discount card to use when paying for meal out.breakfast was excellent very good choice's, fresh fruit, yogurt,full English(all locally sourced) and can even choose a vegiterian.....................

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWScott2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay at The Gallery was a friendly, pleasant experience. Great choice for breakfast. Nice fluffy towels and quality toiletries. Only comment would be the shower could be on the small side if you are a big person.
Across the road is the James Herriott museum well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#15 of 23 in Thirsk
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.4 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: £73 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gallery Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing