We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racing weekend”
Review of Old Red House

Old Red House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Red House
Ranked #21 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Racing weekend”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed here on a number of occasions, each time we've enjoyed, the accommodation
Is adequate, the staff, landlord and landlady can't do enough for you!

The food is excellent too and huge portions.

Looking forward to our next stay in September

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindseyhepworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked two nights at Old Red House, we were shown to the annex, a building behind the pub, both our rooms were a disgrace, carpets & bathroom were dirty in our room , the shower in the other room was so grubby it had to be cleaned by the manager, the only good thing was the bed linen was very clean. Clearly the brewery needs to spend some money in these annex rooms, the rooms in the pub might be very nice, unfortunately we didn't get the chance to see them. The pub itself is lovely & they must have the best chef for miles as the food is wonderful, (shame about the annex rooms).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the pub as they can't be any worse than the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were staying in Topcliffe so invited family from Newcastle up for mothers day lunch. After a fabulous dinner here on the Saturday we were lucky enough to get a cancellation for the sunday carvery. All the food was homemade and delicious. You could help yourself to Yorkshires and crackling. The staff were very helpful. Will definetly be back. The place was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bweddell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We live locally and would recommend the red house. We have visited for the carvery and also had Christmas Day lunch here. Nice food, good portions, friendly staff, nice decor and reasonable prices what more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourfamily1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starlight, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

we were on our way back from Ripon,and was just passing through carlton minniot and decided to call into the old red house for a drink,was greeted very cordially,checked out the menu,and decided to order.The food we ordered was hot plentyful and well cooked,lambs liver mash/broccoli/carrots,my wife had a starter of tomato basil,loved it.no room for dessert.the place is spotless,staff very friendly.were going back for sunday lunch.The prices are really reasonable and the rating does not do justice to the old red house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry8851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Both my parents myself and husband were staying at Woodland Lakes for a weeks holiday and we visited the Old Red House for an evening meal. The staff were most welcoming and polite and once our meal came to the table it was home cooked, piping hot and extremely good value for money. We all had different meals and they were all excellent. So much so, that we visited again. They certainly do not skimp in any way and nothing is too much bother. A big compliment must go out to the Chef for the quality of food being served. When we are up that way again, we will certainly be re-visiting the Old Red House (now grey)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oggie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an evening meal here earlier this evening on our journey from York to Bedale. I had a very nice home made chicken curry whilst my wife choose to have the stilton chicken which she thoroughly enjoyed. Both of our portions were so ample that neither of us had room for a dessert we were hitherto looking forward to. The whole dining area and bar looked newly furbished. We like eating out and would definitely visit again if in and around Thirsk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGmanJWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.7 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Thirsk
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Linden Tree Holiday Cottages & B&B
Linden Tree Holiday Cottages & B...
#1 of 2 in Carlton Miniott
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red House

Property: Old Red House
Address: Station Road Thirsk Junction, Thirsk YO7 4LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing