We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Spoons with rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's a Spoons with rooms”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It is a Wetherspoon pub.
The Hotel reception is accessible from the rear of this old and extended building. If you happen to have a room at the front overlooking the market place it does require a lot of stair ascent and descent. 2nd floor to first floor back to second floor. There is a lift at the back of the building that could quite easily accomodate a wheelchair and a suitcase. A less stair intensive route to rooms at the front from inside the pub.
The Room
We stayed in a second floor family room at front of the building. Friday and Saturday night noise was heard only occasionally through the two, secondary double glazed windows. These were shut though. A spacious room with a double bed and a bed/settee, small desk with a mirror on the wall behind it. Entrance lobby with a wardrobe and full length mirror. Spacious bathroom with seperate shower cubicle and bath.The floors of the room are not level at all, part of the buildings character.

Bad bits; The socket near the desk/mirror is too close to the skirting to get plug with a bottom exiting wire in to. i.e. a hairdryer or iron type item wont go in but my phone charger will. The bath and sink have fixed-to-the-wall soap dispensers, the shower has none! The toilet flush is very temperamental and takes some pushing of the button to make it flush. The stairs might be an issue for some. It being a public house there are no 'quiet' resident areas to sit. Parking could be a problem (we parked at the side of the building, a small road owned and monitored by the hotel as both nights the very small car park was full)
Good bits; noise from the hotel itself, we heard none at all from other guests. Comfortable bed. It's in the middle of the town so near to everything. It's a Wetherspoon, cheaper drinks and cheaper food without leaving the building. No music noise.
We never ate evening meals there but the breakfast was typical of these places. Cheap, and not the best you've ever had, edible though and with a bottomless coffee cup.
Staff are really friendly and helpful and a special thanks to Spider and his colleague for the Saturday night amusement as they policed the door.

Room Tip: 7,8 and 9 are second floor front rooms. This can be a good or a bad thing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    159
    71
    14
    19
See reviews for
80
234
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire Cyclist
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room (#12) was a bit of a walk through the hotel, but for a single room it was very well appointed and faced the square. Everything was very clean, and the staff were very helpful. There was secure cycle storage and access to the bar/food area was easy. At £49 with no breakfast it was more than the B & B prices I had paid for that included breakfast, but for the location it was worth it. Plenty of choice of food both in and out of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubhank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've stayed at Wetherspoons a few times in the last couple of years and at the Three Tuns twice recently. The rooms are fabulous and you'll get great treatment from the staff. Thirsk itself is well worth a visit.

Thanks Cat (Duty manager) and Carolyn to name but two. Top drawer staff.

Any time I'm around I'll book up again. Try it - Tip Top value!

Tim R

Room Tip: Room 2 (Family) is excellent with a huge bathroom. You can hear the deliveries in the morning if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 594tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always lovely to hear positive comments especially about how friendly our staff are. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Overall good stay. The Three Tons seems like a popular spot with the locals with overnight accommodations. Large rooms with clean and fairly comfortable beds. A bit noisy at night. I would stay here again although I would avoid the weekend crowd.

Room Tip: Choose Room 1- large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms at the back of the hotel do tend to be a lot a quieter as they do not face the Market Place where the noise of people leavng pubs late at night can get quite loud. We try to accomodate people's requests for a quieter room whenever we can. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

we stayed here for just one night after a day at york races,tiring day as it was so humid ,we arrived after 6pm and managed to get parked in the small car park at the rear of the pub/hotel.
after checking in we took the stairs to the second floor to our room ,pleasant room,clean enough and comfortable,the only negative point would be the shower,small over the bath shower,but it wasnt a big problem.
The pub is very busy at times and the staff work hard and never seem to stop but that didnt stop them serving up the usual high food standards which we are used of in a wetherspoons pub.
prompt service at the bar and the waitress service.
We will be back again for sure to this hotel as it could be a great base for touring the north yorkshire area as well as racecourses nearby and thirsk is a lovely place.
Didnt have the best sleep as we heard delivery men at 4.40 am in the main square,due to our windows being open wide as it was too hot .but the beds are comfortable enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navajochief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hi,
Thanks for your review! It's always nice to see our staff's hard work appreciated by those who stay with us! Very glad to hear you would stay with us again.

The fruit and veg stall on the market sets up very early on Saturday and Monday mornings which was likely the noise you heard. All other days of the week are much quieter as our own deliveries never arrive before 9 am. We will query with the council if the market noise could be restricted until a little later as a result of your comments.

Regards,
The Three Tuns Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

On our visit to the wetherspoons in Thirsk i was quite sure of what to do but my daughther explained so we found a quite spot so she could breast feed down some stairs I went up to order with my grandson (overhearing we can,t except tips) ordering the drinks first as its a bar he asked me to pay for them as they didnt do tabs (which i never intended but iwasnt going to pay separate for the food and i knew what i wanted so he said it would be 15mins (great!)
waitress brought it and the kids wanted ketchup and we wanted horseradish so went off to look for it there wasnt any horse radish so i went to bar but busy so asked waitress that brought food and was sent off to the otherside of restaurant only thinking well it could have been brought but no worries thats how wetherspoon works so when i sat down to eat there wasnt enough gravy for my roast so went back again to bar busy again then collared another waitress asked for my table number which this time remembered having had to get it to order food gravy never came and my daughther said she wanted some more too so i grabbed her gravy boat and was going to bring it to bar as i caught our first waitress by shouting HELLO! as she dashed into staff only i then pointed to downstairs where i was sitting to bring the gravy as she must have thought i m going to stand and wait for it as she entered the kitchen i caught the last of her very rude words about me WELL thats not fair I thought it seemed as though i was an inconvenience as the other waitress who was the manageress came back with gravy and i told her that i wasnt happy at what the first waitress had said and asked for the name and address of who i could put a complaint into. the kids meal was £3.99 with desert which never came so we left and bought an icecream somewhere else.the following morning my grandson was colouring in the Menu when i read £.3.99 i paid £5.29 (without desert) So I called up wetherspoons and explained about the drinks OK we will note that goodbye they said errrr wait i said and explained about the service etc
then finally a letter came today they said they contacted the restaurant and I wanted an upgrade!!!! standard size lemonade errrrm didnt know that was possible
WETHERSPOONS YOUR USELESS AT SERVICE and your food didnt taste good either
and sorry your reply didnt clarify anything!

Room Tip: only eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Debbie,

Very sorry that your experience in our pub didn't meet the standards you expected. We take all comments on board to try and improve our customer service going forward. If you would like to give us a ring on 01845 521370, ask for Rachel and pass on your address, we'll happily send you a letter offering complimentary meals for you and your family as an apology for the issues you encountered in the pub. We were not aware Head Office had contacted you and can only apologize for the apparent miscommunication in the letter your received as this was not dealt with by our pub.

Regards,
The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in June, to celebrate my 30th birthday myself and partner went to the Crab & Lobster for dinner. Due to the high cost of staying at the C & L we decided to book a cheaper room in this nearby hotel. I love Wetherspoons pubs so staying here seemed ideal. The receptionist was extremely helpful, the room was large, spacious with a big comfy bed. The only problem was the shower.... It would not work at all. The drinks in the pub were reasonably priced with a large selection as always. The C & L was a £10 taxi ride away which was fine. On the whole, it was a great experience and one I'd like to repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noubydarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank-you very much for your lovely review! We are always very pleased to hear when customers have a happy stay with us.

Our showers are somewhat difficult to get the hang of - we will look to putting instructions in the rooms as a result of your comments.

Thanks again,
The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.0 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
828 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
796 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Hotel

Property: The Three Tuns Hotel
Address: 54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England (Formerly The Three Tuns Thirsk)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the JD Wetherspoon chain of pubs and hotels, The Three Tuns is a 13 room hotel on the Market square in Thirsk. We offer single, double and family rooms in our hotel with check in from 2 pm and have a varied food menu served from 7 am until 11 pm every day. Alcohol served from 9 am until midnight Sunday-Friday and 9 am to 1 am Saturday. Please note there are limited free parking spaces available behind the hotel. There if public parking out the front but is not free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns Thirsk
The Three Tuns Thirsk Hotel Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing