We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr Wetherspoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
barnsley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mr Wetherspoon”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Arrived to be booked in promptly after parking car in the car park to the rear of the hotel.
The room was well appointed and to the rear of the property so it was quiet I would imagine rooms to the front not to be as quiet.
A lift is available to take you up to the room if you require it.
The bathroom was very nice, the floor did slope as it did in the bedroom but this is a really old building so no real complaints.

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

To finish off a Wetherspoon Hotel and it was expected to be of a reasonable standard and did not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a quiet and pleasant night's sleep. We hope you will think of using Wetherspoon hotels in the future!

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    154
    67
    14
    18
See reviews for
77
226
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went in here for a coffee. It was the worst Wetherspoons we have ever visited. The tables were dirty with cups etc left on them. The floor around one table was covered in food. Ten minutes later we left and it was still there. We complained and were told they were busy. This was the quietist Wetherspoons we have ever visited. Will never go again. Have complained to head office and awaiting a reply.

Room Tip: Ignore info re sleep quality cannot delete it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niftytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to our pub. We constantly strive to provide excellent standards of cleanliness and service so I'm disappointed that we did not hit the mark during your visit. Your complaint to head office has been passed onto the management team here at the pub and we will respond to you via letter in due course.

I'm particularly sorry that you raised concerns while in the pub and these were not dealt with to your satisifaction. We train all our staff to be able to handle any complaints and issues raised by customers in an efficient and positive manner but this obviously did not happen here. I will ensure that all of my team are retrained in complaint handling and customer satisfaction in light of your Trip Advisor comment and letter to head office.

Many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards,

Rachel
Pub manager at the Three Tuns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Can't understand the bad reviews here, everything was great. Friendly reception, nice clean room and other public areas, a great buzz about the place, the evening meal and breakfast were exactly as we would expect from a JDW and much cheaper than the one in my home town of Leighton Buzzard. We really enjoyed the stay and will certainly be regular visitors in the future!!

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which was great- sounds like 13 is very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a quiet and pleasant night's sleep. It's also always good to hear that our hotel guests enjoyed using our pub facilities too! We hope you will think of using Wetherspoon hotels in the future!

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel over Valentine's weekend as we wanted to go somewhere a bit different for a break from Manchester. We were in Room 13, which is a huge room (actually split into two smaller rooms, one with a desk and the other with bed and cupboard) at the back on the 2nd floor - there are a few sets of stairs to get up there but nothing too horrendous as we both have full use of our limbs.
The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room looked really nice, bit of a creaky floor but to be expected from an old building.
We got the train to Thirsk and walked from the station to the hotel, it wasn't obvious from the front how to check in and we had to ask at the bar for help, at which point one of the staff members came and took us through to reception at the back. It's well located in the Market Place, only a couple of minutes walk from the World of James Herriot.

Downsides of the room were mainly bathroom-related, the toilet was a bit of a pain to flush and had to be pumped a bit to actually do anything sometimes, and the shower didn't drain very well so was full of water after a minute or two. The shower itself was spacious and the water nice and hot, though. The other problem we had was with the pigeons outside! They seemed to be out there all night and did disturb us a bit with constant loud cooing in the morning, not much that can be done about that though really. No noise at all from the pub.

The pub is also a really nice one, we thought, with little rooms off to the side that were very quiet, we ate in there a few times and the plates were always warm with well cooked food. It's only Wetherspoons, so no haute cuisine, but tasty and well priced meals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the bathroom issues you experienced in room 13 and get those sorted ASAP. Further, we are looking into solutions for the pigeon problem outside (and all over Thirsk!)

We hope you will think of using Wetherspoon hotels in the future!

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner and I visited Thirsk in October 2013 for one night and this is where stayed.

The car park is located directly behind the pub and although it was quite small, we managed to get into a space. Checking-in was fairly straight forward, although it did take quite a few minutes for the lady on reception to print off the receipt, hand over the key cards etc. Our room was located right at the other end of the hotel, quite a big hotel I might add. We had to walk up a flight of stairs (fair enough!), then down a long corridor (still fair enough!), then down another flight of stairs (erm, hang on!), then back up another flight of stairs (this is getting silly!) before we even got to our room - it was literally like a rabbit warren.

The room was clean enough, the bed was sleepable (if this is a word!), although the bedside table on my side was actually overlapping so some of it was effectively on the bed so I had to make sure at night that my pillow and body was at a reasonable distance away from it as I didn't want to scratch myself to ribbons during the night. The bathroom was adequate but the real problem with the room was the wafer-thin walls. We could hear everything that was going off in the room next door; their voices, their television, even their footsteps. Luckily, we didn't lose too much sleep over it but nevertheless, it didn't help.

The next morning, we had breakfast downstairs in the pub which was like it always is in a Wetherspoon's pub; cheap and cheerful. In addition, the staff were friendly enough.

To sum this review up; a hotel which is in a great location with very competitive rates and rooms aplenty, but although it is an impressive-looking building from the outside, looks can be deceiving.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hi,

Thank-you for your review of our hotel. We're sorry to hear you didn't have the best stay with us. Due to the building's heritage (it dates from the 17th century) and listed status, there are a fair number of stairs within the building especially to the second floor and we were only able to install a lift to the first floor. We do try to fulfil customer requests for first floor rooms where possible if you did ever choose to stay with us again.

We will look into the bedside table issue and see if this can be resolved for a more comfortable sleeping experience.

Kind Regards,

The Three Tuns Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed overnight on 1-1-14 as a bit of a trip to get away from it all. We really cannot see any reason to pass a negative comment about the premises. Our room was clean and tidy. The bed really comfortable with quality linen and towels. Tea and coffee making facilities were good and if you needed to replenish then just ask at reception.
There's limited free parking at the rear of the premises.
There hotel is situated in the corner of the large market place and thirk itself is a nice place to visit as are the surrounding areas.
We would definately stay here again and would also recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had room 6 and I appreciate that the day we arrived was very quiet after new years festivities bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked this hotel because we had stayed in the past and had not encountered any problems. However, this time it was absolutely awful. Our room was to the side of the building but above bar area. The noise from bar was unbelievable. On checking in we were told that the bar closed at bar closed at 1 am. This was not the policy when we first stayed there and if we had know that we would never have booked again. In fact, on our second night the noise was still going on at 2.30 am - singing, shouting and women shrieking. We couldn't complain as there was no telephone in the room. To add insult to injury the mechanism for the extractor fans for the kitchen are enclosed in a box in the room we were staying in. The roar from this was horrendous. Every now and then there would be a surge which made the room vibrate which made the bathroom fittings rattle. We had to leave early to go home so we could get some sleep. When checking out we told the receptionist of our complaints and she said that they were always getting complaints about that room! Having said all that the staff we spoke to were very nice and the room itself was very clean and warm. The hotel should not use this room as a bedroom.

Room Tip: Couldn't possibly do that after our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi,

First of all I'd would lie to thank you for leaving a review on our Trip Advisor page. Each review we get helps us improve and develop our pub and hotel for future customers. I'm sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations this time. On Friday and Saturday nights we have always been open until 1 am but we do try to manage the noise coming from the bar including the introduction of door staff to manage the customers using our pub late at night. Perhaps you stayed during the week on a previous visit when we close at 12 and the Market Place is generally quieter? I have checked with the duty manager and CCTV footage shows that all customers and staff barring the night manager had left by 2 am so I believe the noise you heard late on was from people leaving other pubs or takeaways across the square. We recommend rooms towards the back of the hotel if vacancies exist and residents express a desire for a quieter room. The Market Place can be quite loud on weekend nights but this is not something of which we have much control after ensuring customers leave our premises as quietly as possible with the door staff.

We try our our best to switch off internal fans as early as possible in order to spare residents any noise pollution. However if our kitchen are finishing late due to a busy night we are unable to switch them off too early, as much of their cleaning depends on having those fans working to maintain a safe working atmosphere.

Unfortunately due to the limits our building, ventilation did have to be created in very specific places to protect its listed status and this has occasionally caused problems for guests in room one. Unless we are fully booked (which is common on a weekend) we do try to accommodate guests who feel they will be unable to sleep in a slightly louder room with rooms on the second floor or back of here hotel.

I would just like to apologise again that your stay was disrupted.

Regards,
The Three Tuns Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.0 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.2 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Hotel

Property: The Three Tuns Hotel
Address: 54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England (Formerly The Three Tuns Thirsk)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the JD Wetherspoon chain of pubs and hotels, The Three Tuns is a 13 room hotel on the Market square in Thirsk. We offer single, double and family rooms in our hotel with check in from 2 pm and have a varied food menu served from 7 am until 11 pm every day. Alcohol served from 9 am until midnight Sunday-Friday and 9 am to 1 am Saturday. Please note there are limited free parking spaces available behind the hotel. There if public parking out the front but is not free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns Thirsk
The Three Tuns Thirsk Hotel Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing