We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The three tuns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Having never stayed at a Wetherspoons hotel I was unsure what to expect. When we arrived I parked outside the front, which was pay and display. It was only 60p for two hours and after 6pm and on Sundays it a free so wasn't too bad. Didn't actually realise there was a hotel car park until we went to the hotel but it was full anyway. Hotel was nice and clean. Loads of stairs though so not veg accessible, however not a problem for us. Did notice a lift at one end though. Room was huge and the shower was really powerful! Only downside was the poor quality of the WiFi.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jenni U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hi,

Thank-you very much for your review of our hotel. We love to hear when people have an enjoyable stay with us. Sorry to hear the WIFI wasn't up to scratch, I'll chase it up with our IT people and see if we need more boosters.

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was my first trip to a Wetherspoons Hotel and did not know what to expect. Our room was fine and while a squeeze for 4 blokes sharing it was fine. What struck me the most was that as a chain of pubs I did not expect a lot from level of service. What I experienced though was way above what I expected. I hope the management of the hotel read this review because never mind too much about what's on the menu, rooms or prices what set this stay ahead of many I have had is your staff. Okay we were there for 5 nights and we got to meet most of the folks but still from walking in the door we were made to feel welcome. At least two of the girls said how much they loved working there and meeting folk from different places, even us rabble from Northern Ireland. Keep that level of service and it will always be a great atmosphere and a pub/hotel I would recommend to anyone. PS, good luck with your fund raising event Chloe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ComberBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hi,

Thank-you very much for your review of our hotel. We love to hear when people have an enjoyable stay with us. We really enjoyed having your group stay with us and I hope you'll think of us in the future if you are over in England in this corner of North Yorkshire!

Chloe's sky dive was on Friday and she wanted me to pass on her thanks for your donation!

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Parking was good, room large, and wet room really big, shower good. Beds good, however no mattress covers don't like that. Bed linen clean. Old building but think they have done what they can to make it easy for eveyone to use. Although a lot of steps up stairs. They do have a lift at one end. Staff very busy, but helpful. For the money we paid very good value, lots of places to eat nice town to visit.

Room Tip: If you need a lift tell them when booking, very quite rooms at back of building had no problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hi,

Thank-you very much for your review of our hotel. We love to hear when people have an enjoyable stay with us. Sorry to hear we didn't have mattress covers on when you visited. These should always be in place in our hotel and I'll make sure in future the housekeeping teams check they are there.

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Arrived at 2pm parked car in car park at rear of the Hotel. We were in room 2 at the front of the Hotel this room is large with a very large bathroom. Great room! We booked at table for are evening meal food was great value which included a drink. Would stay hear again very nice Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room ask for back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hi,

Thank-you very much for your review of our hotel. We love to hear when people have an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As a regular fan of Wetherspoons my anticipation was not fulfilled at this venue. Whilst the amenities of the room were perfectly acceptable, other difficulties spoiled the experience.
Anyone of limited mobility, breathing difficulties or cardiac concerns should not choose this hotel. The myriad of steep staircases, even for just the two floors, are a genuine problem. The partial lift facility is inadequate.
On arrival, the internet 'reservation' was apparently not registered. The receptionist advises that this has happened before and wonders if there is some fault in the 'check out' of the booking. If so, it would be beneficial for the management to sort this out. As luck would have it, the room reserved was available for the stay and all was well, but not without anxiety at the outset.
In support of the Hotel, the usual Wetherspoons pub and restaurant delivered all as to be expected, efficiently and with due attention.

Room Tip: A room at the rear, away from the traffic and the early morning services/deliveries would be benefic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that the pub provided the level of service and attention you would expect from a Wetherspoon's venue. Very sorry to hear that there was an issue with your reservation. We will be sure to look into the issue you mentioned to prevent further occurances.

Unfortunately, due to the Grade II listed status of the building Wetherspoon were only able to install a lift to the first floor and the building does have a fair number of stairs to reach the upper levels. We like to think that this and its 'olde worlde' sloping floors and low doors add to its charms, however, we understand it can be daunting to someone who has the conditions you mentioned in your review. The pub management team, hotel staff and night managers are always on hand to carry luggage or assist in any way they can if guests are having difficulties.

Thank-you again for your review.

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Arrived to be booked in promptly after parking car in the car park to the rear of the hotel.
The room was well appointed and to the rear of the property so it was quiet I would imagine rooms to the front not to be as quiet.
A lift is available to take you up to the room if you require it.
The bathroom was very nice, the floor did slope as it did in the bedroom but this is a really old building so no real complaints.

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

To finish off a Wetherspoon Hotel and it was expected to be of a reasonable standard and did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a quiet and pleasant night's sleep. We hope you will think of using Wetherspoon hotels in the future!

Kind regards,

The Three Tuns Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went in here for a coffee. It was the worst Wetherspoons we have ever visited. The tables were dirty with cups etc left on them. The floor around one table was covered in food. Ten minutes later we left and it was still there. We complained and were told they were busy. This was the quietist Wetherspoons we have ever visited. Will never go again. Have complained to head office and awaiting a reply.

Room Tip: Ignore info re sleep quality cannot delete it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niftytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi,

I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to our pub. We constantly strive to provide excellent standards of cleanliness and service so I'm disappointed that we did not hit the mark during your visit. Your complaint to head office has been passed onto the management team here at the pub and we will respond to you via letter in due course.

I'm particularly sorry that you raised concerns while in the pub and these were not dealt with to your satisifaction. We train all our staff to be able to handle any complaints and issues raised by customers in an efficient and positive manner but this obviously did not happen here. I will ensure that all of my team are retrained in complaint handling and customer satisfaction in light of your Trip Advisor comment and letter to head office.

Many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards,

Rachel
Pub manager at the Three Tuns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
411 reviews
10.2 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Hotel

Address: 54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England (Formerly The Three Tuns Thirsk)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range: £38 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the JD Wetherspoon chain of pubs and hotels, The Three Tuns is a 13 room hotel on the Market square in Thirsk. We offer single, double and family rooms in our hotel with check in from 2 pm and have a varied food menu served from 7 am until 11 pm every day. Alcohol served from 9 am until midnight Sunday-Friday and 9 am to 1 am Saturday. Please note there are limited free parking spaces available behind the hotel. There if public parking out the front but is not free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns Thirsk
The Three Tuns Thirsk Hotel Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing