We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in a spoons hotel, was pleasantly surprised and found it great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Was dubious about staying in a "spoons" hotel - having only ever drank in the places! Found the hotel easily enough, parking at rear made it easy check-in with bags etc. Old building and seemed a maize getting to room so found it easier to enter from front of pub! Stayed for 2 nights, room overlooking market square and was quiet so had good nights sleep. We only had breakfast in the hotel, as we were visiting Pickering and Dalby Forrest this trip (about 40 mins away, beautiful drive). Room clean, spacious and the receptionist was so very efficient and pleasant on our arrival and departure - even stopping for a banter when spotted us at breakfast, lovely lady. Bar staff seemed pre-occupied when serving us, and told us he couldnt amend our order as it had gone through (??!!) - and when asked for the internet password, was told "they'd lost it" - apart from these 2 things we had a lovely stay, and yes would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for The Three Tuns Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

Very nice location and looks good from the outside but thats where the good stuff stays.

When we entered the hotel reception no staff were there. after ringing the bell several time someone showed up after 10 minutes.
When we paid for the room i was horrifed to find that the security camera recoded our PIN as we put it in. We have now been forced to change all our numbers. The Room (no 9) was Ok but nothing special. Was boiling hot and even after turning off the raidiator was still very warm all night.
The other problem we had was that the hotel played loud rave music until 12am.
The breakfast we had it the morning was very poor. Most of it was cold when we got it and of poor quality.

I would not recommend anyone to stay here at all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Spacious family room, but a bit dated - especially the bathroom. Good-value food - usual wetherspoons menu. Breakfast quickly served. One of the more interesting Wetherspoon buildings. Own car-park is too small, but parking is free overnight in the market place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

great room,nice view,superb bathroom,wetherspoon lodges usually score with the benefit if you have young kids is that the pubs are family friendly.only caution is that we found the square late night not a good place for kids,not surprisingly in these towns,too much drinking,however not the inns fault,would revisit,just avoid closing time!!try to get there on market day.mondays .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justinthymeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

First time in a Weatherspoon lodge, won't be the last. Very good standard of accommodation at a very good price. We had a very large room overlooking the market square, and a very big bathroom also. All very modern and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCMChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanaJanaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RECENSIONIEUROPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0.0 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
947 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
835 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
12.4 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Hotel

Address: 54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England (Formerly The Three Tuns Thirsk)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the JD Wetherspoon chain of pubs and hotels, The Three Tuns is a 13 room hotel on the Market square in Thirsk. We offer single, double and family rooms in our hotel with check in from 2 pm and have a varied food menu served from 7 am until 11 pm every day. Alcohol served from 9 am until midnight Sunday-Friday and 9 am to 1 am Saturday. Please note there are limited free parking spaces available behind the hotel. There if public parking out the front but is not free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns Thirsk
The Three Tuns Thirsk Hotel Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing