We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique Heaven”
Review of St James House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St James House
Ranked #15 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, England.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Antique Heaven”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed one night here about 3 years ago, we had no qualms in booking for a 3 day break at at James house nice more. Barry, the owner, is the most welcoming of hosts and nothing is too much trouble. His sole purpose in life seems to be to ensure all his guests feel welcome and at home and, with his wonderful staff, keeps a very clean B&B. Which has everything one needs for a stay. With all his wonderful antiquities, it is like stepping back in time. Barry is also a very intelligent, informed host who loves to chat and can easily converse on any subject. We had some most enjoyable discussions. He seems to have led a most interesting life. All this adds up to a very homely, enjoyable stay and we would not hesitate to book again. Thank you Barry and all your staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Nellybucket - like your unusual handle lol. It was great to meet you both again and loved the chat about just about everything on this planet. Thank you for your glowing review. Appologies for the delay in responding - so much on the go. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    30
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
52
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. Great room, great breakfast, perfect location in middle of Thirsk. Barry is extremely friendly and accommodating, and went out of his way to make me feel welcome - he even made breakfast at 4.30am for me as I had to make such an early start!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Colin, sorry for the delay in responding to your review. Thank you for your very nice review. It was a pleasure to meet you. Getting up to serve breakfast at 4.30am wasn't a problem (I can get up at any time to help - I'm a human dynamo lol). It was the least that I could do to help you in your successful 55 race in 9 hours across the moors and particularly in those far from ideal conditions. I am full of admiration for all of you who completed the event. I suddenly feel tired thinking about it lol. Think I could have managed 12 miles of it. Hope to see you for your next race up here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

barrys welcoming guest house in thirsk is so unique,as he is.
it is not just his job but his home and life.
each item has a history and he loves to tell you his stories
if youre looking for a welcoming home like stay..then this is the place! he even cooked our breakfast for us
we truly loved staying with barry .
the gardens around the guest house were so pretty..
hoping to stay with you again one day barry.
from your ozzie guests.. with the geordie accent

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you both for your great review and photographs. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future. All the best for Christmas and the New Year to you both and to all our other guests who have stayed at St. James House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent a very pleasant weekend with Barry. His B & B is a fascinating house, extremely comfortable and warm and furnished with interesting antiques. Barry told us a little of the history of how the three houses became one under his ownership.
It was only a short walk to then town centre. Our room was cosy and the antique French bed (with modern mattress) gave us two restful nights. We overlooked the garden, full of trees that Barry himself had planted and we enjoyed watching many birds visiting each morning. The private bathroom appeared brand new and the shower was very efficient. The breakfast excelled both in quality and quantity and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Before we left, we booked for the same weekend next year and we have already recommended St James House to friends thinking of visiting the area. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SProvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for you great review Paul and Sheila. Great to have you stay with us. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Barry, the host/owner, was very friendly and cheerful. We felt right at home. The house is decorated with lots of interesting antiques, and the breakfast was the best English breakfast I've had so far in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggy13la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we provided you with your best breakfast of your travels. Hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

On our first trip to the U.K and not knowing much about the area, we could not have picked a better place to stay. Barry was a wonderful host and provided excellent insight on what to see in the area. The hotel is in a perfect location and is everything we expected. I would definitely stay at the St James House again on our next visit. John J.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hello John and Ronda. Thank you for your lovely review. Glad that we helped to make your first visit to the U.K. enjoyable. North Yorkshire and in particular, James Herriot Country, is a wonderful scenic county to see. Look forward to you visiting again. Thank you for keeping in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay. Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast lovely. The house is situated in a beautiful area and the house itself is full of interesting pictures and antiques. Barry, the owner, is very friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hello Tracy. Thank you for your lovely review. Glad that we helped to make your family stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
0.4 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#10 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Property: St James House
Address: 35-37 St. James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James House is a large imposing Georgian Grade 2 listed building situated on St. James Green, which is a conservation area and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We have excellent free parking outside of the property.We are conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of visitor attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park is only 10 minutes drive away to the East and the Yorkshire Dales National Park 25 minutes drive to the west.York is only 25 minutes drive to the south.We are open all the year round.Our friendly staff look forward to you visiting us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing