We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed three nights while visiting the James Herriot Museum and exploring North York Moors and Yorkshire Dales National Parks. Delicious food, attractive and comfortable lodging, and cheerful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearsons33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights at end of May 2014. Staff, accommodation and food was great. Great location for us to get to a family wedding between Thirsk & Northallerton. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Called here on a Sunday afternoon for tea,sandwiches and cakes at cost of £6 per head. More cakes than sandwiches and had to send the ham sandwiches back because the ham had an unattractive green tinge. Complained but staff not too concerned although did make sympathetic noises.

Not a good experience but other food offerings might be better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overnight stop en route further north, so booked the cheapest price we could find and were not disappointed. We had room 1, at the back of the hotel, so it has no view. There is a market in the square twice a week and the set up is from early morning, so perhaps a room at the back could be an advantage. Our room was a little small, but more than adequate, well decorated and with an interesting ensuite bathroom that was up a few steps. Comfortable bed and furnishings. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which far exceeded expectations. Extremely good quality food, well cooked and presented and for a reasonable price. Dinner for 2, bed and breakfast came to just over £100, plus £20 for a decent bottle of wine. There is plenty of free parking at the rear of the hotel.

Being very picky, the only criticism is the bathroom. The water pressure to the shower is very low, making a good shower very difficult. Apparently, it is a "known problem" and is being sorted, but if you are staying more than one night and like a decent fierce shower in the morning to wake you up, it might be worth a call to confirm that you get a room that has some water pressure.

One on the list of places to stay again.

Room Tip: Front for a view; rear for peace the night before market day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We received a very warm welcome from Reception staff on our first visit to The Golden Fleece. Our room was spacious, with a very large 4-poster bed. Two comfortable chairs and a table were provided in a good position to view the Market Place. The room was equipped with every facility you require for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was served in a pleasant room with a good choice of dishes. Again, very pleasant and efficient staff. Would revisit this hotel if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel has a wealth of history and quirkiness that makes the stay here memorable. Reach this hotel after a long drive but was warmly welcomed and shown our room. I don't think spirit levels were used in the construction of the hotel but it added to the charm of our hotel choice. Excellent location being central to the town for easy access to local amenities, but the hotel bar is worth a visit. The breakfast was excellent with wide selection of goodies to choose from using local fresh ingredients, one of the best. The reason for not giving an excellent rating was the poor shower, so check before accepting the room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

One of the good things about this hotel is that you are made to feel welcome on arrival and from then on, the staff are very attentive providing superb service. This was our second visit to The Golden Fleece this year. We stayed in Room 4 overlooking the Market Place. The room was large enough and well appointed with comfortable chairs so we could relax and enjoy a great view of the town. The room was kept spotlessly clean and was equipped with everything needed, tea/coffee, hair dryer and adequate wardrobe space.If you want to visit The Yorkshire Dales or Moors, you could not choose a more convenient location. We were very happy with our visit and will return.

Room Tip: The Mews rooms at the rear of the hotel are very good too and quieter when the market is being set u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimColborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.8 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
742 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
827 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing