We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class meal”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed an "Early Bird" meal with a group of friends in the bar at the Golden Fleece. The food was excellent served with a nice selection of perfectly cooked vegetables. Everything was hot - including the plates and the staff were very attentive. The cheese board was a sight to behold with a nice selection of cheeses, nuts, grapes & celery - fantastic value!

We look forward to visiting again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    250
    67
    18
    21
See reviews for
143
477
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Mark loulou and i have enjoyed a lovely week end at the races and the golden fleece, this was loulou,my little dogs first visit and mark and my 3rd.we were given a welcome return by joe and all the lovely girls who work there.we stayed in a character filled room with a very comfy bed,but if you want the wow factor ask for room no two or four wonderful four poster bed.
we ate in the restaurant both nights and found the food tasty and excellant value ,in the morning breakfast was served in the bar so loulou could join us after her walk round the market
we had a lovely stay and i recommend this hotel

Room Tip: room 2 and 4 are 4 poster wow rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieandmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here whilst having a day at the races. Great location, right in the middle of the town overlooking the market square. Ample free parking at the rear of the hotel. Twenty minute stroll to the racecourse. Lovely comfortable room. Great bar and restaurant serving delicious food. Family run hotel and the staff were superb, being both friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Character filled rooms with comfortable beds, excellent food with good varied menu and staff who could not do enough for us. Would certainly make a return visit en route to the north. Excellent value for money

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent three days here and had a fantastic time, the bedrooms can be a bit quirky but overall this is a very nice hotel. The staff really make this hotel, very helpful and extremely friendly. Would I go back? Without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just had accommodation and evening meal for 22 people. On the evening of the meal the service was faultless. The food was excellent and all the staff went out of their way to give us a really fantastic night. Special thanks to Chloe and Janine for all their help with organising the event, to Jo for running such a great hotel and to young Greg the waiter who ran around after us all night but never stopped smiling. What a great team, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A Lovely old fashion hotel ,food was excellent service was excellent the room was at the front of hotel four posted bed large room will be coming back when next in Yorkshire a big thank you to all the hard working staff made our stay one to remember

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
1.3 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
731 reviews
6.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
8.9 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
298 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Property: Golden Fleece Hotel
Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing