We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had a great couple of days staying in Thirsk at the Golden Fleece. Great mews room, very spacious and clean. Bathroom super. Breakfast excellent, lots of choice and lovely staff. Would definately stay here again

Room Tip: Mews rooms around the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath61809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    250
    67
    18
    21
See reviews for
143
477
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent an excellent few days at this lovely historic hotel. Our room overlooked the marketplace and we were surprised to see the lovely modern bathroom in such an old place with the large bedroom beautifully furnished. Staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hull_EnglandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night for my partners birthday and to attend the races at thirsk. Great location very central. Very clean and welcoming. Good menu and nice atmosphere. Will be returning for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights, and had a really nice stay there.We had a lovely welcome on arrival and the staff throughout our stay were very proffesional too.
We stayed in room 3 which was a lovely room and overlooked the market square.The breakfast was excellent as was the early bird meal we had one night
I am sure we will stay here again

Room Tip: Look on the website and choose a room of your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

After a fun weekend away while on our way homewe stopped in Thirsk as I had the urge for a Roast Beef Sunday Lunch. I will admit this was the 3rd place we tried but am glad we ended up here as the beef was amazing. It could be a little bit cheaper and I was a little concerned when 2 tables who sat after we had ordered received their food first but within 2 minutes of asking ours arrived. The staff were lovely, very helpful and apologetic about our wait. Thank you Greg who met us on arrival and directed us to our table and especially Joe who served us and chased our food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed an "Early Bird" meal with a group of friends in the bar at the Golden Fleece. The food was excellent served with a nice selection of perfectly cooked vegetables. Everything was hot - including the plates and the staff were very attentive. The cheese board was a sight to behold with a nice selection of cheeses, nuts, grapes & celery - fantastic value!

We look forward to visiting again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Mark loulou and i have enjoyed a lovely week end at the races and the golden fleece, this was loulou,my little dogs first visit and mark and my 3rd.we were given a welcome return by joe and all the lovely girls who work there.we stayed in a character filled room with a very comfy bed,but if you want the wow factor ask for room no two or four wonderful four poster bed.
we ate in the restaurant both nights and found the food tasty and excellant value ,in the morning breakfast was served in the bar so loulou could join us after her walk round the market
we had a lovely stay and i recommend this hotel

Room Tip: room 2 and 4 are 4 poster wow rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieandmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
1.3 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
731 reviews
6.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
8.9 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
298 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Property: Golden Fleece Hotel
Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing