We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely day, really well done”

World of James Herriot
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You’ve probably read the books written by James Alfred Wight or watched “All Creatures Great and Small” on TV. Now come and see where James Herriot, the world’s most famous vet, lived, worked and relaxed. See his home and surgery in Thirsk; travel back in time to what life was like when James was a vet in Yorkshire. See the car he drove, step into the TV set, try your hand at being a vet and even experience what it was like to hide in a World War 2 air raid shelter!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely day, really well done”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a lovely musuem and immaculately presented. The staff were really lovely and seemed very keen that we had a lovely time. They were super with our two children (aged 7 and 4) and gave them a quiz sheet each to make their visit interesting and a free cream egg at the end! There is so much to see and lots for the children to do which makes it a very interesting place for them, despite the fact that they have never seen the programmes! The museum made me want to watch all the programmes again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    131
    24
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All creatures great and small”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was incredible, stepping back in time to when Dr Herriot was working. I almost expected in to be sitting at his desk. The lady who took us on the tour was fantastic explaining to us about the set up.I was a huge Herriot fan when younger, on returning home I went out and purchased all of the DVDs. I loved this tour. It made me realise what a fantastic guy Alf Wight was I wish I had, the opportunity to know him. He would have been a interesting character to know and a friendly guy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, rooms are set up and filled with interesting, historical and genuine articles. Even if not a James Herriot fan you will enjoy the history and the games upstairs. Lots of facts about Alf Wight but also many item relating to Veterinary medicine, really worthwhile afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“herriots home”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

went to here because i have read all the books when you see it from the outside you think well this wont take long,big mistake my brother and i paid and went in you see the living area and kitchen as it was in the 30s&40s its like being transported back in time as you go in the upstairs rooms there are boards on the walls depicting what life farming was back then there are cupboards and chests of drawers with the instruments vets used back then and you have to wonder how they ever coped with such basics i could write for hours about this place absolutely brilliant a must see in thirsk i would urge any one who visits thirsk go here you,ll be amazed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wilshyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellant way to spend a day. 1st class.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Although I have lived in Thirsk most of my life, it wasn't until I moved abroad and came home for a holiday that I went to the Museum which is on the premises of Alf Wights Surgery where I used to take my pets.
I was soooo impressed, what a fantastic place. There is so much to see and be involved in for all ages. It stands alone as a fantastic Museum let alone the connection with All Creatures.
Give yourself a huge treat and go in. I would allow yourself a few hours or more to take everything in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank benjean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World of James Herriot also viewed

 
Middleham, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to World of James Herriot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing