We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location very lucky to live whee we have a decent local at last!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Last visited on Sunday afternoon greeted by friendly staff a warm log fire and a lively smell coming from the kitchen. The steak was to die for the skewered lamb mouthwatering finished off with a glass or two of Merlot - divine! The staff have shown us around the newly refurbished bedrooms. A first class job, 5 star facilities. We have family and friends that come to Yorkshire and would have no problem recommending this venue to stay at. I am aghast at some of the negative comments I've read about this place on this website! If you truly have an issue with the staff/meal then tell them!!! Instead of rushing to your computer and slating the place if the manager isn't there-insist he rings you when he's in!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwyners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

What a difference from my visit last year! Recent refurbishment is tastefully done, with no expense spared. The Staff are very friendly, the bed was amazing, the food was great - this place deserves to do well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White-Mischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My fiance and I are getting married at a nearby wedding venue and we popped in to the angel to see if we could recommend some of our guests stay there.

The restaurant was modern and elegant and the food smelled delicious but it was claire, the supervisor who left an impression. She couldn't have been more helpful! She gave us a tour of the new rooms, including the luxurious halo suite, gave us recommendations of the best rooms for different guests and printed off prices and room information for us.

The rooms looked stunning and it was clear that claire was very proud of the refurb.

My fiance and I left very impressed and we are recommending this lovely place to our wedding guests.

Thank you Claire for all your help!

Jennifer and Dean

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcjen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The rooms were booked under the previous management and we did not know it had been took over. The price of the rooms were agreed previously and a deposit made. The staff were friendly when we arrived but then they tried to over charge for the outstanding balance by £30!! They then agreed to honor the previous price which was then paid in full. We then went to a meal in the area and returned just before 11pm. My friends were served one drink but when they asked for another just after half past they were refused. The manageress pointed out she couldn't take money and as they didn't have an open account they couldn't have a drink. It was pointed out we had to pay in full when we arrived and their internet site says bar is open until 12am?? Service was refused. The rooms were nice but too hot. Breakfast the next morning, again previous management promised vegy breakfast, new one didn't and I was offered omelette or porridge. If there was a Wetherspoons close by I would have left and went there. Poached egg on toast was had. Nice looking hotel but would not stay there again or recommended it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viv968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel on 20th September 2013 and had such a great welcome. we were also very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful refurbishment it had undergone very recently. Although our bedroom had not been part of the first phase of refurbishment it was still a very nice room, clean and comfortable with all facilities we needed. The staff could not have been more helpfull or more friendly and we had a lovely breakfast the next morning which was beautifully presented. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KakieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our night at the Angel was for a 5oth suprise party, the staff were excellent very friendly and joined in with us and had a little dance. The food at the restaurant was lovely and the breakfast was in the middle, however because one our party was five minutes late they were refused a cooked breakfast, although some time later at least 30 minutes there were customers in the restaurant part eating breakfast. I thought the customers always came first especially as we have booked 6 rooms for the night. The bathroom looked stunning yet the water in the shower trickled out, we were offered another yet it was the same, the bedrooms all looked like they were from a different world bit like stepping from the tardis bathroom to bedroom, the decor desperately needs updating. The gardens and grounds were serene but i would of spent money on rooms before outside area. The alcohol is very overpriced, all downstairs was lovely and i have to say the staff were very accomadating and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I attended a wedding here at the weekend and overall we stayed 3 nights.
I have to say for the wedding itself the service was excellent, the function room was immaculate, the gardens have been really nicely re-done and the staff could not have been more helpful.
During the other days we were there this level of service was replicated, the breakfasts were great, clearly cooked to order and the bar food was also very good.
During the time we were at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome by every employee we met. I would definitely recommend this venue.

Room Tip: I understand all rooms are to be refurbished, which will be an excellent addition to the hotel, we u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
975 reviews
5.2 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
671 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Address: Long Street | Topcliffe, Thirsk YO7 3RW, England (Formerly The Angel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a great place for a relaxed meal or celebration, the Angel is also a great place to get away for the weekend: with stylish bedrooms, great food & drink and the whole of North Yorkshire to keep you busy during the day what more could you want? Our location, within easy reach of both the A1 and A19, also makes us a good base for anyone travelling for business. Our warm village-pub atmosphere and friendly welcome also help to make your time away from home a bit more pleasant (and productive!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Thirsk
Your Hotel The Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing