We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay NYE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay NYE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed on NUE whilst dining locally and had a very good stay. Our room (no 10) whilst not large was very comfortable, nearly refurbished and had a great power shower. Service on check in, breakfast (which was great) and check out was very helpful and friendly and we can not wait to return to try the restaurant and monthly comedy act. Thank you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janeowen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    76
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
158
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had our wedding reception here on the 27th December 2013 . I would like to say the service was fantastic . Greg the manager greeted all our guests with hot mulled wine . The food was faultless . The roast beef melted in the mouth . The pudding was so plentiful it beat most of the guests except the bride and groom of coarse ha ha . Some gusts took their sweet home which was wrapped up in all sorts of animal and angel foil wraps ........ WELL DONE Greg , Chef and all the waiting staff thank-you xxxxx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good service and atmosphere but food was not hot or fresh enough. Roast beef was a bit dry and the yorkshires had been cooked a while ago. And for £12.95 for a basic beef dinner certainly on the pricey side. My Husband had the fish and chips. Fish was good but the hand cut " frozen" chips were under cooked and bland. We assume that " hand cut " means cut in their own kitchen but not the case these days. I recently saw a van delivering frozen triple cooked chips to a local restaurant. I now ask if chips are properly home made. Toilets were very clean. The Angel with a few tweaks could be very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We visited the Angel recently and we all had a brilliant time. They could not have done more to make us feel welcome. I was offered Gluten Free alternatives with minimal fuss...they even made me a creme brulee when they realised all their pudding options were not Gluten Free. Superb! The staff were friendly and welcoming.

We ate in the restaurant and this was lovely, also made special effort for Gluten Free. They had a very good selection on the menu, definitely something for everyone. We stayed in the hotel and found the rooms to be very modern, very clean and full of everything you'd need. The little things made all the difference, i.e. a light on the mirror in bathroom for doing make up, an alarm clock in which you could plug in iPod, excellent storage space and lovely smelling toiletries.

Topcliffe is a lovely little village, meaning that we had a very nice and undisturbed sleep.

Breakfast was lovely, although they couldn't find the Gluten Free bread, the breakfast was so filling, it wasn't really required! They all made a good effort to make sure we were looked after and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

I would mention that their bar closed at 10.30 on Sunday night which was a little earlier than we'd be used to.

I can't wait for my next stay and I would highly recommend visiting, even if it was just for a bite to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL_Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were lucky enough to be invited to a wedding do at the angel a couple of weeks ago. The venue itself was great post refurbishment. Not all the rooms have been finished yet, but I shouldn't think that will be long. The food provided was first class and there was plenty of it; the staff were friendly and competent. Highly recommended for a function.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Attended a well supported function Dinner by Master Chef Finalist or Winner Darren - Sublime! Rooms been refurbished to a very high standard; lovely linen and comfy bed! The waitress in the restaurant for breakfast was simply so helpful and had a very smily face.. Will return. My only quip the pressure of the water in the shower was poor, hardly ran but I am sure that will be dealt with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Last visited on Sunday afternoon greeted by friendly staff a warm log fire and a lively smell coming from the kitchen. The steak was to die for the skewered lamb mouthwatering finished off with a glass or two of Merlot - divine! The staff have shown us around the newly refurbished bedrooms. A first class job, 5 star facilities. We have family and friends that come to Yorkshire and would have no problem recommending this venue to stay at. I am aghast at some of the negative comments I've read about this place on this website! If you truly have an issue with the staff/meal then tell them!!! Instead of rushing to your computer and slating the place if the manager isn't there-insist he rings you when he's in!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwyners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
5.0 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Property: The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Address: Long Street | Topcliffe, Thirsk YO7 3RW, England (Formerly The Angel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a great place for a relaxed meal or celebration, the Angel is also a great place to get away for the weekend: with stylish bedrooms, great food & drink and the whole of North Yorkshire to keep you busy during the day what more could you want? Our location, within easy reach of both the A1 and A19, also makes us a good base for anyone travelling for business. Our warm village-pub atmosphere and friendly welcome also help to make your time away from home a bit more pleasant (and productive!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Thirsk
Your Hotel The Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing