We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
281
99
34
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
99
34
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalo suiteplaza suiteskewersresidents loungecrab lobsterdouble showerfunction roomroast beefeggs benedictmodern bathroomoutside areapuddinglovely placeattending a weddinghigh standardevening mealample parking
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I came up to Topcliffe to attend a party at the Angel. It was held in the private room at The Angel. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable; I am still drooling over the beef! After a lovely evening we stayed in the attached hotel. The rooms are all new, spotless, comfortable and a good size and extremely good value. After a good night's sleep in v comfy beds, we had breakfast; again food and service exemplary! Thank you! PS. My mother said thank you the old fashioned way, by letter! We all loved it. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmasparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed overnight on Saturday 22nd March 2014
The welcome was very friendly and the staff lovely
Our room was very clean and bed very comfortable
Excellent breakfast freshly cooked and hot served by the lovely Kat
Thank you for a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daisy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

In a small village predating the Doomsday Book and within a few minutes walk of the very popular Crab and Lobster is a little gem: The Angel Topcliffe. A hotel that caters for weddings and small business groups, it also has a very good restaurant and atmospheric pub. The rooms are amazing for the price, especially the master suite, which is amazing - huge bed, double shower, freestanding bath and beautiful décor. I enjoyed a Sunday lunch with friends and we were all impressed with the quality (and quantity) of the food. A gem worth considering as an alternative to York city hotels - terrific value!

Room Tip: Go for the master suite if available - it's unique and reasonable
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rowley32256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Booked last minute, as a romantic night away, the room was absolutely gorgeous, decorated & kitted out to a very high standard. The bed was massive & really comfy & the pillows were just right, not too firm & not too soft. We ate in the restaurant & I can highly recommend the burger, especially to those who have a thing for gerkins!!!!
Saving the best till last is the breakfast, Im drooling now just thinking about it, was the best EVER & the waitress (Claire) who served it was very polite & helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is our third or fourth visit to the Angel, and as usual the welcome was good and the staff very nice. We were on the way back home from a lovely day out in Yorkshire. We had a drink and ordered food, when they were ready we were shown to our table. I had cod and chips etc. my wife had the belly pork. Both were fine but as a chef of nearly 40 years, one of my pet hates is stacked chips! What is the point? Apart from that and the cabbage parcels which my wife had, which had a funny aftertaste, everything was fine. Considering it was just 6 p.m. the place was busy which is always nice to see. We did notice quite a large refurbishment had taken place since our last visit and everything was pristine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews