We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We took our children away after visiting Lightwater Valley to this hotel and stayed in the family room which overlooked the lovely garden. The rooms are set away from the main bar area and found the hotel to be very new, modern and very tastefully decorated. Our room had 2 single beds and a pull out double sofa bed which I found slightly uncomfortable and not wide enough for 2 adults to have a good nights sleep on although our children a boy and girl slept like logs! We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but found the prices a bit pricey and not enough variety for small children. We went down for breakfast at 8.30 and were the only ones there but counted 7 tables with guests dirty plates , toast, cups etc still on them, these were not tidied away despite 5 staff being around us or by the bar at the time. The breakfast was plentiful but the black pudding was hard and overlooked along with the bacon, maybe we were the last ones down for breakfast and got what was left, I don't know but thought it was a bit too crispy. Overall a very modern place with a large car park but a little disappointed with quality and attention at breakfast and the small double bed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    76
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
158
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
co durham
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for one night here after visiting Lightwater Valley. Initial impressions were very good the room was lovely very modern and exceptionally clean. The only reason I haven't rated it excellent is that we booked the family room , we have two children aged 8 and 12 and the room had two single beds and a sofa bed. This meant the kids got a bed each which they were over the moon with and me and my husband had to sleep on the sofa bed. Being used to a king size bed mean't for not a very good nights sleep as it wasn't the biggest sofa bed and not very comfortable. Okay for children but as the beds were already made up as singles meant we had to sleep there otherwise sleep in separate beds. This didn't spoil our stay here but I would ask how the room is set before booking the family room. The room overlooks the garden area which is lovely and was very quiet. It has a large bathroom with bath,nice big towels ,it does have communal shower gels which I am not keen on but I understand are more cost effective. The staff were very pleasant at all times. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order which was very nice. I would prefer a pot of coffee rather than just one cup so therefore had to find someone to ask for a refill. Would consider staying here again just to try their comfortable beds!

Room Tip: Ask about room configuration before booking family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treacle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We used this venue for a Training event, and were blown away by the superb service level. Catriona could not do enough for us, multi tasking and ensuring our every request was attended to without delay. Spotlessly clean, well equipped room. We were consulted about what our ambient temperature would be, and the correct levels were set for us. Lunch was individually selected, and the food was well presented, of excellent quality and value for money.
The location of this venue, close to A19 and A1, mean it is accessible from both North and South, the ideal venue for training events.
I am highly impressed by this team, and recommend it for either business or leisure use.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a night here with our two boisterous children and we were not disappointed. The hotel was immaculate, the rooms cosy and comfortable, the bed was enormous and afforded a brilliant sleep! Breakfast was tasty, well cooked and relaxed. The price at £80 for a family of 4 with breakfast was definitely worthwhile.
The only negative was the slow service at dinner but the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff made up for it!
A five star night !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellonearth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This is superb in every way From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special and welcomed by Rob and Sharon the managers. The Angel has style class and service of great quality.spacious and very clean with plenty of seating from the bar area throughout to little lounge areas with comfortable sofas. Whole atmosphere is comfortable and easy The dining area well thought out and roomy. We had evening meal and it was superbly presented with quality food cooked to perfection. Bedrooms fresh clean and en suite comfy beds and with all amenities Breakfasts quality fresh cooked ingredients and plenty of choices. The stars of this show are the team absolutely first class and all working together to make sure your stay is superb Our thanks to Kat, for your tireless attention to detail in making us feel welcome and ensuring we had everything we needed without being intrusive and also to Sal and Nat You are all first class and do a brilliant job. Great team, very smart and just the right sense of humour and personal touches to make your stay special A big thank you to you all and the Angel for a delightful stay. Many thanks Rita & Graham

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank artdeco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Outside of this building simply doesn't give a true representation of this place! Although I will add the Gardens were amazing, just the rain put me off slightly! Is absolutely stunning inside, so comfortable, and clean and everything you need for an overnight stay is there! Food was lovely & staff simply couldn't do enough for you. Thanks for a superb stay I'll be back when I'm back in that neck of the woods!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

stayed here 2 years ago on business, I have just had 2 nights stay at the newly refurbished Angel Hotel, the whole place has had an amazing facelift which has been done so tastefully, the rooms were spotless well designed and the beds amazing, the staff were so friendly the food lovely and well priced, but the best part of my stay was the full English breakfast cooked to order and served by the lovely Kat, thank you for making my stay with you a pleasure, I will be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.0 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Property: The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Address: Long Street | Topcliffe, Thirsk YO7 3RW, England (Formerly The Angel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a great place for a relaxed meal or celebration, the Angel is also a great place to get away for the weekend: with stylish bedrooms, great food & drink and the whole of North Yorkshire to keep you busy during the day what more could you want? Our location, within easy reach of both the A1 and A19, also makes us a good base for anyone travelling for business. Our warm village-pub atmosphere and friendly welcome also help to make your time away from home a bit more pleasant (and productive!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Thirsk
Your Hotel The Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing