We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times now, about time I left a review!

On arriving the staff are helpful and pleasant, a really warm welcome.

Check in is a painless process, quick easy and efficient.

The rooms are great, clean to a high standard, in fact the whole place is to a high standard.

The food is amazing, two menus usually on offer, the regular menu and a specials menu, both really great.

Great real ales on tap as well, I must recommend the Tribute, Cornish Pale Ale, a really good pint, you can tell the lines are well managed!

Breakfast is amazing as well, no need for lunch.

If things get a bit noisy in the bar for you, there is a residents only lounge with big comfy sofas.

The big draw to this place is the staff. Helpful, happy and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome, a real credit to the management.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    71
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
153
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Even more amazing in reality than the great photos promise. Well trained, personable staff from the get-go. 10 min drive into Thirsk is very handy. Chilled with a lovely cider in the garden in the afternoon, had a phenomenal meal in the evening including whole pigeon stuffed with haggis and a gorgeous seafood platter with excellent accompanying wine! Great service again, genuine and caring which is always a nice bonus.

Then retreated to the pool room for a whisky then up to bed for a night cap of more wine lol which they'd chilled for us even though we bought it outside of their establishment.

Stunning venue including a very good night's sleep and a top draw full English & coffee.

What a find this place is and what a bargain for the luxury experience you receive.

Highly recommend, can't fault them at any point & trust me I would do ha.

5/5.

Andy, Manchester.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and went to function at this hotel and stayed overnight. I could not fault this hotel at all. Outside there were extensive car parks and some very pleasant gardens to sit and enjoy a drink in. At the front of the hotel was a traditional English pub with a separate games/Tv room. There was a restaurant to the side where we had a very good "full English" breakfast. There was a separate residents lounge and a large function room. The food at the evening function was very good. The hotel has obviously been recently re-furbished to a high standard and our room was large and very clean with ample storage space. We had an excellent stay and I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgyhaicut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Upon arriving we were pleased with the accommodation. The place looked lovely and the bar area welcoming. We did cause quite a ruckus to begin with as we were early, due to us attending the races, but the hotel were aware of this and had promised a room would be available for us to freshen up in and change, something the staff did not seem to be aware of. The rooms, once we were in, were lovely and refurbished and had a lovely feel to them.
However, there were numerous issues we complained about:-
1. Eating in the restaurant was very troublesome with some members of the group being served their meal 25 mins after other members, stone cold steaks being served and staff tutting when it was returned, staff making sarcastic comments and then 2 members of our group having to wait an hour for poached egg on toast for breakfast!
2. One member of the group slipped in the bath, due to no hand rails or anti slip surface in the bath, which caused extensive bruising.
3. No blind in the bathroom which meant that the window had to remain closed on a very hot evening as people could see in from the street.
4. Other guests being shown around our rooms before we had checked out.
5. The enjoyment of the restaurant and bar was ruined due to the amount of flies. It is understandable at this time of year when the weather is hot, but no effort was made to rid the area of the flies, which meant we were unable to enjoy the food we were consuming.

The other disappointment was that the house manager was overheard saying to other staff and guests ' you just can't please some people!' when we did complain.

We will not be returning and will not be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonoandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
573 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

A little dubious on arrival as the place is quite clearly a pub from its frontage, albeit a very characterful looking one. Large car park to the side, all level access. Inside, the pub/restaurant is very attractively designed, themed, on the darker side in the old part but more modern and bright on the car park side. There is access directly into the accommodation from the car park or directly from the restaurant through a small resident's lounge. Some very attractive furnishings, mirrors, lamps, artwork.
The stairs up to the rooms have bannister rail so adequate for my disabled companion. The rooms have good solid slow closing doors and lovely lighter wood furnishing, beautifully clean and nicely designed.
Unfortunately, the plumbing for the room next to me was like a hammer going whenever it was operated. This was reported to the manageress who told me they'd had trouble locating which room was the problem. Hopefully this will now be resolved.
There are a surprisingly more rooms here than I would have expected and being a pub with later evening pub noise, you takes your chances as to other guests/noise. Someone was banging repeatedly on one of the other doors and not getting any answer!
We ate in the restaurant early evening, the food was good but we were annoyed by a few flies. I mentioned this to the waiter who reckoned it was because of the river (the river is at least 100 yards away?). They really need to do something about it tho Im not sure what Health and Safety allow them to use in a restaurant.
We nearly missed breakfast because the young lady, presumably quite new at check-in, had told us breakfast finished at 10am rather than 9.30am and we were 10 minutes late, but the staff in the morning were very apologetic for the mistake when they realised, and the chef apparently came back and cooked for us.
The village itself is pleasant, with the river running through it, but not enough to visit it for itself and the Angel is convenient for the A1 and major roads. If you want a lay-in, dont have a front or front corner room as the newsagents next door gets very busy first thing. There is a very pretty rear garden here too.
To emphasise, the accommodation, staff and the actual appearance of the place is excellent. Not somewhere I would stay again for its own sake but certainly if I had to pass through the area again. The manageress was particularly pleasant, friendly and clearly cares about the place, her staff and what people think. A well run ship.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet, get a room furthest away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in the suite a lovely large room with a very large bathroom with freestanding bath and boulder drench shower and twin sinks. Decorated with lovely relaxing colours. Bar area contemporary design very relaxing. Staff attentive overall a very good stay. Would be a lovely place for a wedding as they have a fabulous outdoor seating area and it would be far cheaper then the crab and lobster down the road. Give it a go you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I have just stayed 2 nights at the Angel. From the moment we arrived we were shown an extremely warm welcome, personally shown to our very comfortable room (The Halo Suite). Everything is to a high standard, the room, the hotel and the beautiful beer garden.

The breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice and both the evening meals we had were delicious, although service on the first night was slow but this was because they also had an event on that evening.

All in all a very nice stay In a lovely area and we shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greynomads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Three Tuns Thirsk
6.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
14.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel

Property: The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Address: Long Street | Topcliffe, Thirsk YO7 3RW, England (Formerly The Angel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a great place for a relaxed meal or celebration, the Angel is also a great place to get away for the weekend: with stylish bedrooms, great food & drink and the whole of North Yorkshire to keep you busy during the day what more could you want? Our location, within easy reach of both the A1 and A19, also makes us a good base for anyone travelling for business. Our warm village-pub atmosphere and friendly welcome also help to make your time away from home a bit more pleasant (and productive!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Thirsk
Your Hotel The Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing