We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL CHURCH”
Review of St Mary's Church

St Mary's Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$447.12*
and up
Private Tour to Whitby and the North York Moors from York
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL CHURCH”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A beautiful church. When I went there was an organ recital and afterwards there was a light lunch down in the vestry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Day in Thirsk”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Sadly didn't get into the church as notice said it was closed due to mother and toddlers group being on. This was the church where the real ' James Herriot was married. The house he lived in is just a little bit down the road and is now a museum tribute to him.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alexismccreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada!
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I didn't get to go inside but it was very pretty and old and exactly what I would imagine an old church would look like.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Close to hotel ,lovely church ,very friendly congregation”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wanted to visit more places in the area and only booked 2 nights & members of family with us had to get back for work Monday .Couldn't stay longer as we had to come home after service as we knew some roads still blocked for 2nd leg of Tour de France @ Skipton .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely church”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a flower display on while we were there, but even without worth a visit, every one will chat to you very friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Mary's Church also viewed

 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to St Mary's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing