We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"You won't find better"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"You won't find better"”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A superb b and b. Jill and Nicho were wonderful hosts and the accommodation was first class. We received such a warm welcome, tea and a log fire in the guest sitting room on arrival and a superb breakfast the following morning. The room was very well equipped and very tastefully furnished. We were made to feel very much at home and extremely comfortable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear David thank you for your lovely review it was our pleasure to welcome you to Woundales and we look forward to having the chance to do so again!
Best wishes
Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Warm welcome, the rooms are spacious and well equipped and breakfast was plentiful. There was nothing we could fault our hosts, a pot of tea and a log fire welcomed us back each evening. Lovely people, lovely place, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmaddiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do hope you will come and see us again and the log, fire, tea and biscuits are waiting for you! Warm regards Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stunning location, stunning accomodation and wonderful people, the house is truly beautiful and the furnishings a mixture of antique and modern so suits all tastes . Jill & Nicho made us so welcome, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel special, we had the most wonderful stay. I have never left a review anywhere before but this experience was so unique that i would do anything to help them - we are very discerning people and they are a very special couple who deserve their recommendations. This experience refreshed our faith in the british bed & breakfast experience and we would have no hesitation in recommending woundales to our best friends . Our best wishes to them all . Graham & Gala Smith.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful but we loved the corner room for its sunny character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank smith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Graham and Gala we are overwhelmed by your lovely review. It was such a pleasure to do Land rover convoy over the moor with you! We look forward to seeing you both again in summer and showing you some more secret routes and hidden gems.
Thank you very much.
Best wishes Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

While I use TripAdvisor reviews almost compulsively and had lovely B&B experiences in the past, I've never written a review till now. This place is just that compelling.

I was looking to get away from London by myself (and without a car) - Jill was so gracious in helping arrange everything, I never had to wonder or worry. She, Nicho and the children are amazingly sweet, down to earth, entertaining, and flexible. No matter what type of trip you're looking for (quiet weekend, romantic getaway, solo traveler, adventure, etc.), Woundales meets the need.

They have done an amazing job restoring Woundales while still being a working farm. There are just three guest rooms which gives the place a very personal feel. All of them are tastefully renovated and well furnished. Downstairs has a sitting room with a fireplace and dining room where breakfast/dinner is held - there's such an eclectic mix of old and new everywhere, I just love it.

Jill and Nicho run this B&B with their hearts. It takes special people to do that and do it well. I hope I'll be able to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Felicia
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to look after you on your brief visit toYorkshire. We hope we shall get the chance to see you in the future and that you will be able to have your family with you next time. Maybe we could take you all over the moor again to Hawnby and Rievaux Abbey! The other guests who followed us loved it too. Sometimes we forget how lucky we are here, how beautiful the landscape is around Woundales and it was lovely to be able to share it with you.
Best wishes Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Set in a lovely, quiet and scenic part of the country Woundales is a true hidden gem.
So far we have stayed twice and thoroughly enjoyed both occasions and wouldn't consider anywhere else in the area.
Upon arrval we were greeted by both Jill and Nicho and immediately made to feel most welcome.
The rooms are excellently furnished and tastefully decorated with lots of finishing touches from the espresso coffee maker to a deck of cards to pass the time.
We have stayed in numerous B&B's during our travels but at Woundales we couldn't ask for anything else.
As for the breakfast.....absolutely delicious and filled us for the day (and I do not jest) !!
The only regret that we both have is that we couldn't stay for longer each time.
Looking forward to visiting again.
Barrie & Linda from Hastings, East Sussex

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazzag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It really was an absolute pleasure to see you both again and both Nicho and I felt that you really did exemplify our "arrive as guests but leave as friends" goal. We both hope that you will find another reason to come to Yorkshire. Best regards Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Jill and Nicho are charming relaxed hosts whilst working very hard behind the scenes. The rooms are very stylish with thoughtful and luxurious extras like excellent coffee with fresh milk (rather than UHT!), macarons, fine linen, etc. Delicious home made food (we had both breakfast and supper) all served in a delightful dining room.

Margaret and Simon Shropshire

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you to Woundales, should you be in need of a comfortable bed, an open fire and a nice cup of tea in Yorkshire again!
Best wishes
Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a beautiful place ,rooms very nice and cosy and the views stunning,beautifull guest lounge ,warm and cosy. Hosts Jill and Nicho are a very attentive couple, wish them well and thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: the four poster is a lovers dream xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellydouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay, such a good idea bringing a hamper of goodies for a romantic night away. Hope to see you and your Bolly again ice bucket and flutes ready and waiting!
Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
5.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
300 reviews
4.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
907 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Oak Tree Accommodation
4.2 mi away
High Paradise Farm
High Paradise Farm
#1 of 9 in Thirsk
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Woundales Farm | Borrowby, Thirsk YO7 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast. We would like to welcome you to Woundales Farm, a very special place. An oasis of calm in the heart of the North Yorkshire countryside. Ideally located with easy access to everything our beautiful county has to offer. Come and be cosseted at Woundales and we will do our best to make your stay as perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing