We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for 30th birthday so was booked as a surprise. The place is faultless and definitely worth a visit. 5 star! The owners were very welcoming, food beautiful and room super comfy- not to mention the peaceful rural setting. We will be back!! :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsSunshine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing us as the place to celebrate a special night. We look forward to seeing you both again
Best
Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

What an amazing B&B....after 120km of cycling in the rain we arrived looking a complete mess...we were welcomed like long lost friends .... By Jill and Nico (hope this is the right spelling) who were sooo friendly ....the 7 bedroom accommodation was first class...and the food some of the best we have had (all home cooked)... Must mention the open fire which warmed the toes. Breakfast was just as good as the evening meal...we will hopefully have the chance to bring the family again at some point.
Internet was brilliant for route planning and nothing was too much trouble.... thank you sooo much
Ps we made it (Coast to Coast in 3 days)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you Richard for your fabulous review. We really enjoyed having you both here and still laugh at how you used the bike wash to warm yourselves up, golly you were soooo wet when you arrived but had obviously had a very satisfying days riding. So glad you made the Coast to Coast when my knee recovers I shall have to give it a go! Hope we shall get the chance to cosset you at Woundales again.
Best
Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Before we arrived at Woundales farmhouse Jill and Nicho made our stay very personal by recommending walks with stunning views and creating a fabulous time 3 course dinner for the evening. We arrived and was made to feel welcomed instantly. Nothing was too much trouble, Jill and Nicho had champagne flutes in our room brought a bucket with ice lit the log fire and cooked and served a delicious 3 course dinner. I would definitely recommend this beautiful b&b to anyone . The location is stunning with many fabulous walks and knowing you can return to a lit log fire is even better. We will definitely return soon. Thank you Jill and Nicho for a wonderful stay. Kelly and Tom. X

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellylouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Kelly and Tom
Thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to spoil you here at Woundales and we hope we shall see you again for another romantic break.
Best Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Absoloute perfection in every way! I've stayed at many hotels in my time and can't praise Jill and Nicho and Woundales any more. The location and accommodation is stunning and your every need is catered for. The little touches added by Jill and Nicho just make it so special - as a couple they can't do enough for you. To sum it up as I don't generally write reviews but here goes - fantastic hosts, amazing B&B set in a beautiful location. We're already planning our next visit to Woundales and can't wait!
Kyle & Leigh x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Kyle and Leigh thank you so much for your lovely review. It really was a pleasure having you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again and hope you will bring the family next time and take the whole house! Best wishes Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A superb b and b. Jill and Nicho were wonderful hosts and the accommodation was first class. We received such a warm welcome, tea and a log fire in the guest sitting room on arrival and a superb breakfast the following morning. The room was very well equipped and very tastefully furnished. We were made to feel very much at home and extremely comfortable. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear David thank you for your lovely review it was our pleasure to welcome you to Woundales and we look forward to having the chance to do so again!
Best wishes
Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Warm welcome, the rooms are spacious and well equipped and breakfast was plentiful. There was nothing we could fault our hosts, a pot of tea and a log fire welcomed us back each evening. Lovely people, lovely place, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmaddiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do hope you will come and see us again and the log, fire, tea and biscuits are waiting for you! Warm regards Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stunning location, stunning accomodation and wonderful people, the house is truly beautiful and the furnishings a mixture of antique and modern so suits all tastes . Jill & Nicho made us so welcome, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel special, we had the most wonderful stay. I have never left a review anywhere before but this experience was so unique that i would do anything to help them - we are very discerning people and they are a very special couple who deserve their recommendations. This experience refreshed our faith in the british bed & breakfast experience and we would have no hesitation in recommending woundales to our best friends . Our best wishes to them all . Graham & Gala Smith.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful but we loved the corner room for its sunny character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank smith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K, Owner at Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Graham and Gala we are overwhelmed by your lovely review. It was such a pleasure to do Land rover convoy over the moor with you! We look forward to seeing you both again in summer and showing you some more secret routes and hidden gems.
Thank you very much.
Best wishes Jill and Nicho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
4.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
5.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
290 reviews
4.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Oak Tree Accommodation
5.2 mi away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
5.3 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Woundales Farm | Borrowby, Thirsk YO7 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast. We would like to welcome you to Woundales Farm, a very special place. An oasis of calm in the heart of the North Yorkshire countryside. Ideally located with easy access to everything our beautiful county has to offer. Come and be cosseted at Woundales and we will do our best to make your stay as perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Woundales Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing