We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star + cottage. Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brin2007
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star + cottage. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here as a group of girls for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for anything more perfect. Catherine was an excellent hostess. There were so many extra touches that you wouldn't expect from a holiday cottage such as chocolate on the pillows, complimentary tea, coffee and milk, a bottle of proscecco and homemade cookies and bread. The house itself is beautifully decorated and the hot tub was very clean and well looked after,. All in all we we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and will recommend this cottage to everyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Liked least: Could not find any faults,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you for the lovely comments and what a lovely group of girls, you were a pleasure to have stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andness9
Cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We could not fault this holiday in any way.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner Catherine who had made us a wonderful welcome pack of home made treats and who was always on hand if needed.

The cottage is spotlessly clean with everything that you need to enjoy your holiday and the private hot tub just finishes the holiday off.

The location of the cottage is ideal for viewing lots of attractions.

We will definitely be visiting again and would recommend this property. Thank you Catherine for letting us enjoy your cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to you staying again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueternen...
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottages”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From driving through the gates to seeing the cottage for the first time, we were in awe how beautiful it looked.  The beautiful layout, and the attention to detail as well as the personal touches and welcome basket, has made this one of the most attractive and welcoming places we've stayed in. The kindness shown by Catherine, surprising my mother with a georgous home made birthday cake just topped it off. We will definitely come back, sooner rather than later we hope, and will definitely be recommending you to our friends. Thank you for lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Master bed was a little too firm to what we are used too.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
THank you for your lovely comments. You were a pleasure to have stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this beautiful property and the wonderful service received
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and really glad you enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
royski65
1 review
“Top notch accommodation”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't recommend Horseshoe barns enough. I stayed here on a midweek break while visiting from China. The cottages are beautifully appointed,spotlessly clean and very welcoming after a long journey. The position is ideal for visiting all the Yorkshire had to offer. be it York, Moors,Dales or even the lakes for a daytrip. There is plenty to see and do within a short radius of Horseshoe Barns. The owner, Catherine is very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. I will definitely stay here again. Oh yes the hot tub is amazing! and the welcome pack is very generous.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob k
2 reviews
“SUPERB !!”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wow - cannot recommend this hidden gem highly enough. We stayed in the Blacksmiths Cottage - but did ask for a look around the other cottage called The Farriers and both were furnished to the same extreemly high standard. Both are brand new and are just gorgeous. We were met by Catherine , the owner ,and on opening the cottage door was greeted by the smell of freshy cooked home baked bread. There was a lovely basket of cheeses and chutney and a bottle of wine - which was just great as we had travelled quite a way, and it was late- so it was fantastic to sit and chill out straight away.The setting is just gorgeous and to be honest it was hard to tear ourselves away. Everything you could think of has been provided in the cottage and Thirsk - just a couple of minutes drive away ,was a lovely old market town ,and had a great selection of shops etc . so it was easy to get a couple of steaks or whatever and make a really lovely meal in the evening.and then dip in the hot tub. Pure Bliss!! We did go to York for the day on the train - which was really easy, and also went to Harrogate for a day out as well- both places are well worth a viist. I wish we could have stayed longer - if you are looking for a break away in this area then look no further and just book- you will love it !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blacksmiths cottage ”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing break.
The best cottage we have stayed in by far.
The hot tub is amazing and is cleaned daily by the owner who's name is Catherine and always at hand with anything you ask of her.
We enjoyed the visit that much we have booked a second visit for my other half's birthday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. look forward to your return visit in August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing