We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic home and the friendliest owners!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Y9955PLje...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic home and the friendliest owners!”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at The Mistal for a long weekend with another couple and their little dog. The owners, Karen and Jeff, were so friendly and absolutely fantastic from the very first enquiry through to the morning we left. The directions and information they gave us made everything so easy.

The standard of the accommodation is just wonderful - beautiful finishes on everything, gorgeous bathrooms, thoughtful hotel-y touches like little soaps, bottles of shower gel, and televisions in the bedrooms.

There's a lovely patio with dining table, chairs and BBQ. There's also a tennis court and we played a lot more than we thought we would! It was great for working off a few of the big dinners we made in the well-equipped kitchen.

The Dog and Gun, a great local pub recommended by Karen and Jeff, is just a 10-minute walk away in the village. The food and service were both impressive - the cajun chicken and avocado burger was on another level! And the charming towns of Thirsk and Northallerton are both a short drive away, too.

I'd definitely recommend The Mistal for a relaxing break in beautiful Yorkshire. We'll be back!

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickthesl...
Whitworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage rental”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I can't speak highly enough of The Mystal and Karen the owner. The cottage is just perfect in a serene location with breathtaking views. The grounds and the cottage itself are absolutely pristine and have been done to a very high standard. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough for anyone who is looking to stay in the area. We visit North Yorkshire for a break every year and now would not stay anywhere else. Thanks again Karen.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacott
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed for 4 nights. It had everything we needed - Karen and Jeff have thought about everything. It's a great location within easy reach of the Yorkshire Moors and Yorkshire Dales. We shall return.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OnAir7036...
1 review
“absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a 3 night break recently, our stay was amazing, Karen and Jeff were lovely hosts very friendly and made our stay extra special.
The house was truly outstanding, spotlessly clean, attention to detail was out of this world, can not recommend highly enough.
We will be visiting again in the near future.
Thank you for a lovely stay Karen and Jeff x

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.