We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Mistal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mistal
The Mistal with view over fishing lake View of living/dining/
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Mistal
The Mistal with view over fishing lake
View of living/dining/
kitchen
Further view of living/dining/kitchen
View of staircase and galleried landing
View of kitchen
One of the two ensuites
Downstairs w/c
Bedroom 1 with super king zip and link bed
Bedroom 2 with king sized zip and link bed
Galleried walkway
View of the Mistal
View of Hambleton Hills from property
View from Bedroom 1
Patio overlooking fishing lake
Fishing lake
Fishing in the lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Celia1953
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I totally agree with all the positive reviews about the Mistal. It is a lovely property, decorated and furnished to the highest spec.The owners are very friendly and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending this property, fully deserving of its 5 rating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemhawk
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5* Holiday Cottage - you will not be disappointed!”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have recently returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at the Mistal. From start to finish we could not have asked for more. The property was easy to find from the excellent directions provided by Karen and Jeff prior to our arrival and we were met by Karen and their dog Tangles as we pulled into our parking space. Karen showed us around and made us feel very welcome. She pointed out the grounds of Old Low Moor Farm including the stables, fishing lake and playground which holiday makers are invited to use. The setting of the farm is absolutely beautiful and tranquil, with views of the hills from the bedroom.

We have a young daughter so were a little apprehensive about the spectacular open wooden staircase before arriving but we needn't have worried! Karen and Jeff had installed two stair gates before we arrived and even provided a cot bed and bedding for our toddler. There were a few toys and books for her too and a highchair could have been provided if we had needed it. There was also a great selection of board games in the cupboard.

The property has been renovated to a very high standard, with beautiful fixtures and fittings and high quality soft furnishings etc. It really made it feel like a holiday to relax in such a luxurious place. Karen had also provided a lovely welcome hamper with some essentials and Yorkshire goodies for us to enjoy. It was a lovely and thoughtful touch.

If you are thinking of booking the Mistal, do not hesitate. You will not be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thanks to Karen and Jeff for a fantastic welcome to their truly exceptional cottage. We loved it so much we've booked our next visit already!

Very dog friendly accommodation which our dog loves too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic home and the friendliest owners!”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at The Mistal for a long weekend with another couple and their little dog. The owners, Karen and Jeff, were so friendly and absolutely fantastic from the very first enquiry through to the morning we left. The directions and information they gave us made everything so easy.

The standard of the accommodation is just wonderful - beautiful finishes on everything, gorgeous bathrooms, thoughtful hotel-y touches like little soaps, bottles of shower gel, and televisions in the bedrooms.

There's a lovely patio with dining table, chairs and BBQ. There's also a tennis court and we played a lot more than we thought we would! It was great for working off a few of the big dinners we made in the well-equipped kitchen.

The Dog and Gun, a great local pub recommended by Karen and Jeff, is just a 10-minute walk away in the village. The food and service were both impressive - the cajun chicken and avocado burger was on another level! And the charming towns of Thirsk and Northallerton are both a short drive away, too.

I'd definitely recommend The Mistal for a relaxing break in beautiful Yorkshire. We'll be back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickthesl...
1 review
“Perfect cottage rental”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I can't speak highly enough of The Mystal and Karen the owner. The cottage is just perfect in a serene location with breathtaking views. The grounds and the cottage itself are absolutely pristine and have been done to a very high standard. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough for anyone who is looking to stay in the area. We visit North Yorkshire for a break every year and now would not stay anywhere else. Thanks again Karen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacott
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed for 4 nights. It had everything we needed - Karen and Jeff have thought about everything. It's a great location within easy reach of the Yorkshire Moors and Yorkshire Dales. We shall return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;