We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in the Countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palash Bari - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Palash Bari
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

When we entered we were welcomed by a member of staff and shown to a table immediatly. What strikes you first is the Tables and the way they are set, all with cotton tablecloths and knapkins,
The food is as good as any Indian food I have tasted and you get a piping hot knapkin after the main course to wipe yourself down if needed.The staff are attentive and more than helpfull and if you want a ceretain curry but not too hot just ask.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Manerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Needed to try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We had looked at this place a few times after going by a few times, and still not finding a good Indian in this area.. On arrival we were greeted and shown to a table, we go early so only a couple other people were in.. Staff were ok a couple more friendly than others, but over all very good..
We ordered the drinks and out come the popperdoms with all the compliments.. We ordered our food and I have to say that this was by far the best Indian we have had in this area.. A little more expensive than others but then hey you get what you pay for..
We had the mixed starter for 2 and this was real tasty, nice and fresh ingredients.. The rest of the meal was great too..
We asked for the bill and it came we paid we left with a greeting from staff..
By the time of leaving it had started to fill up and take aways are obviously very busy..
In all we will be back to try something different on the menu..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
205 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice location, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place has changed hands a few times over the years. The latest set up is quite nice. The restaurant is well furnished and the menu has the usual and restaurant specialties. Service is okay. Perhaps slightly over priced, A drink starter, main course and side dish about £20 per person. I like the mixed starter for 2 to share. Good quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter1Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“last minute booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

have not been for a little while last minute decesion for 7 people incl 3 children service and food were excellent wil not leave it so long next time

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Excellent - And It Is Now Called The Royal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I went in a party of 7. I would normally expect some problems with such a number but far from it, the service was quick, attentive and much appreciated. The atmospherics are perfectly acceptable - the place is clean and slightly modern. The food is well above average and (with respect to a very provincial location) excellent when compared with what the area has to offer. Nans are often a dead giveaway. These were light and delicious. The tandoori dishes were jolly good and the wet curries imaginative. All of us would definitely go again when visiting the Silverstone circuit. Well worth the effort. And by the way don't going driving round Towcester looking for it. It is on the A5 going North!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palash Bari also viewed

Paulerspury, Towcester
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing