We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bullseye!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull at Towcester

The Bull at Towcester
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Towcester
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our friendly pub and restaurant in the heart of Towcester in South Northamptonshire is open seven days a week, and is dedicated to providing our customers with great quality food and drink. When the sun is shining we have a wonderful beer garden for you to enjoy and in the winter months sit inside our cozy bar with open log fire. We serve a delicious range of home made traditional British dishes alongside a selection of starters and mains that have a Mediterranean influence. Our food is freshly prepared in our kitchen by our experienced Chefs using local suppliers and seasonal produce whenever possible.
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bullseye!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent beer garden, plenty of parking, lovely, relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant area, great food and wine, friendly service without being overly intrusive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SezzySez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BullTowcester, General Manager at The Bull at Towcester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear SezzySez

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you had an enjoyable experience at The Bull at Towcester. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Alberto Ribeiro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    80
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not one I enjoyed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Sorry but the lack of staff and the time I had to wait was that bad I left.
Can't comment on the food because I didn't get the chance to try it.
Maybe I will try it again one day
Just because I've been told the food is good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ajpg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had visited Stowe Landscape Gardens last Sunday and wanted some 'pub grub' as we headed home to Northampton mid-afternoon. We diverted towards Towcester and happened upon The Bull. They were still serving food until 4pm, so we ordered our drinks and sat down in a fairly quiet restaurant. Many people were sat outside but we chose to go indoors.

The waitress was very attentive and efficient and made sure our order went into the kitchen promptly. I had fishcake salad with side order of chips and my partner ordered the Portuguese steak meal - both were presented well, freshly cooked and very enjoyable.

The food and service were great and good value for money...and the drinks all met expectations too! Will happily return when in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julesb176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great local!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We tend to use the Bull about once a month as its our local. A nice and varied menu, couples with a good selection of beer and wine plus very friendly and helpful staff make for a very pleasant experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit!!! - Will Go Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited this pub with an Amazon Local voucher. The welcome upon arrival was very friendly and we had a choice of tables as it was not full. The decor is nice and looks very clean. The view through to the bar shows nice leather seating so it looks like they have put quite a bit of effort into the pub.
Menu is varied and good value. Food was very good, restaurant level and plentiful. I had fish cake starters and my wife had breaded mushroom risotto. For main course I wanted the Bitoque (Portuguese dish of steak with accompaniments) unfortunately this had run out so we both had Beef Bourguignon The beef was very tender, the dish full of flavours, and vegetables were spot on. The house wine provided was very palatable and they also had some real ales. We did not try deserts due to be full however, what we saw coming out of the kitchen was very nice. I would recommend giving this restaurant a try; you may need to make a booking especially for Friday/Saturday nights as they can get full. Even without a voucher we will definitely make a return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simonmerriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull at Towcester also viewed

Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Bull at Towcester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing