We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thrilling Experience”

Silverstone Single Seater Experience
Ranked #7 of 15 things to do in Towcester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Thrilling Experience”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This experience was bought for me for my birthday (august) by my girlfriend. We eventually got it booked and attended this month.
It could not have been better When we arrived we were told that they had to put me back an hour due to track maintainence, to kill some time they offered me a passenger ride in an Aston Martin V8 which was brilliant.
Then the breifing started, and the first thing the instructor said was we couldn't have a better day for this, there was only 3 drivers on track so we had plenty of space, the sun was shining and the track was dry.
After a couple of laps behind the pace car we were let loose, the other two drivers had remembered the blue flag meaning and we all stayed out of trouble.
Einstein stated the faster you go the slower time goes......Bollocks, it was all over in the blink of an eye. Now i'm left Googling formula fords for sale and wishing i was rich!!
I would definately recommend this, just being at Silverstone the home of British racing was a thrill.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trickie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    13
    4
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Bought this and another experience for my husbands 21st birthday. He LOVED it!
The 'experience' is much better value than the 'thrill' they get more time driving round the track.
Will definitely book more experiences in the future!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wife's 50th Present”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I got the single seater experience for my wife for her 50th ,she is a F1 fan.
Her drive was booked for early afternoon but we got there a few hours before and watched others do their drives
.We took our own food and drink but they have a cafe at the Driving Experience Centre.
The staff where friendly and helpful and explained everything.
The whole experience takes about an hour which includes a briefing,laps behind safety car and laps without safety car.Helmet and gloves are supplied by the centre.
The single seater experience takes place on the inner Stowe circuit,while other cars use the outer main circuit.
Family and friends can can take photos on the grid until otherwise informed by the staff ,then can watch from an upper viewing area.After the drive an official photo[s] and disc of your drive can be purchased from the Centre.
The only minor point my wife was the only female out of 6 drivers and she felt it would be better to have some female only slots.











We took our own food but

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nottmphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

A great experience. Got it bought as a gift and was a fantastic one. Brilliant for people who like motorsport.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shauntennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Single Seater Experience at Silverstone”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was bought as a birthday present and proved to be one of the best for a long time.

The chance to have a drive around a proper track in a single seater was even better than I imagined.

After the informative and at times light hearted briefing, the group of 12 drivers walked to the pit garage to get the helmets and cars.

Once you were seated in the car, the fun begins with the following of the pace car to allow you to learn the track and racing lines. Once this was completed you returned to the pits to regroup, and be let out onto the track, one at a time to test your skills against the clock. As long as you adhered to the track rules and obeyed the flag signals, there was plenty of opportunity to push the car to the limits you were comfortable with, using the track lines shown in the briefing and warm up laps. The track had enough twist and turns to keep you on your toes. The Ford powered cars were quick enough to get the adrenalin running. The best fun in ages. This will make indoor Karting seem very slow in future. At the end of your spell out on the track approx. 20 laps, you go back to the center to be issued with a print out of your lap times, including fastest lap, average and top speed. You will also see where you were placed in relation to your other 11 drivers, all trying ever bit as hard as you to get a smooth fast lap recorded. The track was wet on the day I drove but it did not spoil the fun at all. Will go back for another go. Thanks to the friendly, helpful staff at Silverstone, a day to remember.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireContango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silverstone Single Seater Experience also viewed

 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Silverstone Single Seater Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing