We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My first visit and I would definitely return . our room was very large clean and modern.
The staff were excellent and seemed to be very well trained. I had the all inclusive package and couldnt really find fault . The spa was very impressive and again the staff were very helpful.

The food was excellent .

I think the comments about more staff in the bar area are fair but i really dont understand some of the other comments some people have made.

Room Tip: Dont forget your flipflops..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rge1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Ge0rge1970

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in February.

We are delighted that you had an excellent and relaxing weekend away and that you really enjoyed the spa facilities and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,562 - 1,568 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was a girly event for my friends 50th Birthday which I had booked for 10 of us January 24th.
We were all arriving at different times so we had arranged to meet in the bar, they were very short staffed and the poor boy that was trying to get our drinks was either getting it wrong or adding it up incorrectly.
We had lunch booked for 2.00 but our first treatment was at 3.00 after some time I did get us in earlier so that we didn't have to rush our lunch. Again very short staffed and unable to get drinks with our meal.
The treatments were excellent.
The rooms very large but basic, no mini-bar or little touches you would normally associate with a 4*.
The evening meal was a complete disaster, we weren't booked in till 9.00 some of the dishes were already unavailable and what we were served was sparse and not very appetising. The dinning hall was large and very impersonal. The young waitress was very embarrassed but did try her best.
The morning breakfast was even worse. We were shipped to the other side of the hotel in a make shift dinning hall. Getting to it was a feat in it self. They were having some kind of bike exhibition so we had to negotiate stepping over bikes and men and exhibition boards. The food was cold, as was the coffee and teas and they kept running out of food which took ages to come up. The staff again were very young, inexperienced and some where lacking in basic English skills.
In all a very disappointing trip. I did email customer relations and to be fare to her she did respond after a few days and said she had investigated and offered me 50% of if I wanted to book again this year but that won't be happening and it's more to the point that I had booked it up and I felt responsible.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear lesley f

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are most sorry that you and your friends were disappointed with your spa break and that it did not meet the standards that you were expecting. All of your valued feedback, as was also discussed in correspondence with us, has been taken on board by the relevant departments and we certainly do hope that you will reconsider and visit Whittlebury Hall again.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent two nights here and both were sleepless so watch out. Apart from the room overlooking the bins and noisy machinery, the cistern made so much noise it was impossible to sleep. Told reception in the morning and they promised it would be sorted -it wasn't. Cracked sink and tiles and tired shower. Only two tea bags and room so small cupboard in front of wardrobe so couldn't open it fully. On the upside, staff were all really friendly.

Room Tip: Check your allocated room out BEFORE unpacking your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKHoneymoonersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear UKHoneymooners...

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are pleased that you found the staff to be very friendly. We are currently in the process of redecorating all of our bedrooms and we hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future to see all the positive changes that are being made.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here many times and found this trip to be particularly enjoyable. Nice room, food lovely - especially the evening meal, and service good. Went with a group of friends that also enjoyed the experience. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank jade22797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear jade22797

Thank you for your excellent TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are delighted that once again you had such a fabulous stay with us and that you and your friends really enjoyed yourselves.We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Having stayed e a number of times before I was not overjoyed when hearing that Whittlebury Hall was the venue for a conference I was attending.

I phoned ahead and asked for a quiet room being a light sleeper and the room was just perfect, overlooking a garden area. The service throughout a 2 day stay was very good indeed coupled with a noticeable notch up in the food served made this a pleasant and relaxed venue.

I would ceretainly recommend it and look to stay myself in the future.

Well done on the improvements in all areas.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank destressing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear destressing

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are so pleased that you had a much improved visit to us and that you were able to experience all the positive improvements that have been made. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My friend and I treated ourselves to a spa weekend for our birthdays. We arrived at 9am on saturday morning to find our rooms were ready and we settled in to a lovely twin room with huge bathroom. We made our way to the spa which was getting busy even then. We were checked in and given a tour of the facilities by friendly staff. What choice- we didn't know where to relax first!!

Although the spa was busy there are several areas and plenty of room for everyone. at no time did we feel overcrowded or rushed. We sampled all the facilities - except the freezing cold showers! Not to out taste, but clearly enjoyed by others.
There were 300 spa guests for lunch(!) which was therefore served in Aston's restaurant. We were greatly impressed by the selection of piping hot, well-cooked food which was an accomplishment in itself considering the numbers being catered for. The staff were friendly and efficient and not at all flustered.

In the afternoon we both had a massage and both therapists were excellent. We enjoyed in particular the quiet dimmed relaxation room, the waterbeds and hanging seats, which were wonderful after our treatments. It would be nice if there were more than two waterbeds as we were aware that others were waiting to have a turn.

We had an excellent dinner in Astons on Saturday night and a delicious breakfast on Sunday morning. The hotel ave done their best with the big restaurant and have succeeded in making it less like a refectory.

We were delighted with our stay and hope to repeat the experience again. We booked a deal on the hotel website for lunch, dinner, one night's B&B and use of the spa facilities with a 50 minute treatment. We felt we had excellent value for money.

My only gripe was that our room was adjacent to the air conditioners / other technical equipment for the spa and the hum of this was constant . It woke me a couple of times in the night but did not prevent me falling asleep again. I think we were in room 832. If we get to return I'll ask for a room away from the spa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear mmmc

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in January.

We are delighted that you and your friend had a thoroughly relaxing and restful stay with us and that you were able to make such good use of all the facilities the spa has to offer.

We too hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again for another excellent spa break!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent two nights here this week. On the plus side all of the staff were very friendly and professional. On the down side, the accommodation is in need of some TLC. Our room was small and overlooked the bins and some plant machinery that made a noise. There were cracks in the sink and tiled floor. Only two tea bags and the TV was on a unit in front of the wardrobe so you couldn't open that properly. But the worse thing was the toilet. The cistern was faulty which meant water was constantly wing topped up and that made a terrible noise and clunk all through the night. We told Reception in the morning and they promised it would be fixed. Guess what...it wasn't which meant we had another sleepless night listening to the loo filling, leaking and clunking. If you are staying here we would suggest, before you unpack your bags, check your room thoroughly otherwise you might be packing again after you have requested a change of room. Oh, and the shower had seen better days!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before agreeing to use it. Flush the loo and check the shower and only then unp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Shelley H

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are pleased that you found the staff to be very friendly and professional and thought the location lovely. We are currently in the process of redecorating all of our bedrooms and we hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future to see all the positive changes that are being made.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range: £57 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester, Northamptonshire
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing