We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms ok, exceptionally poor food and lots of problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rooms ok, exceptionally poor food and lots of problems.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My parents have lived in Towcester for 17 years, and the only reason I stayed here was because there was no bedroom space for me and my partner at their house! The hotel itself is rather nice; clean and comfortable, with large rooms that are well-decorated and furnished. No problem at all with the hotel stay, although our toilet never flushed properly and the bath was stained with plaster, which was unfortunate.
The lady at the hotel Reception was lovely, as was the waitress who helped me out the next day when we had an atrocious meal. It was for a surprise 50th birthday, and although the Manager was very kind and did give us money off our bill, the food was exceptionally poor and the way the whole booking was handled, from the confusion and high-handedness over pre-orders down to a balloon we had bought being popped by the chef in the kitchen, meant that although the stay was good, it wasn't worth £80 and I certainly wouldn't have a meal there again unless I had to. The roasts ordered were mostly cold, all out of frozen packs, the steak and ale pie tasted awful, burgers cremated and even the chips were only lukewarm.
I have been a customer at this venue for years, although I now live in London, and since it has changed hands it's standards have dropped decidedly. Unfortunately, it's now a cheap Wetherspoons-type place, and if it wasn't for the two lovely girls who tried to sort my problems, and the Manager giving us a decent discount, I would have been left absolutely furious.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok if you get a cheap deal on a third party site, but eat elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat_LDN0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent experience. I am sorry that your experience in the restaurant was not up to our usual standard, I will ensure all of your feedback is communicated to the team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. We are happy your room was comfortable. We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    129
    61
    34
    27
See reviews for
82
158
7
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Have used this hotel before so decided to have our wedding there in April 14 , after a shaky start with the planning it turned out to be a great wedding with the food excellent and the staff good .

All of our 100 guest said it was a great little venue so i would defo recommend this to others , wedding room is also good with great bed lol

Room Tip: Room 6 is the best rrom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faminnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I am pleased your wedding was a success. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Saracens Head Hotel is an excellent and well presented hotel. My room was very comfortable and the bed was excellent. Breakfast was well presented with a comprehensive menu and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1 which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review for the Saracens Head. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and our menu was to your liking. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We pre booked for lunch for 4 adults and 1 child. The bookings advisor sent the menu for us to pre order which was a very good idea as it was going to be very busy. Food was most delicious. My father and I had soup which was nice and hot. We all had a roast lunch and there was a good variety of vegetables. Pudds were very yummy. The waitress gave us the right amount of time between courses. She also did all our drinks orders so there was no queuing at the bar. Would highly recommend :-)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for recent review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your Mother’s day lunch with us. Your kind words will be passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Saracens Head for one night after a family wedding, we were allowed to check in before 2pm as our wedding started at 2, the room was large and extremely comfortable and clean with a massive comfy bed and en suite bathroom. The manager and staff very friendly and the inclusive full English breakfast was delicious. We wouldn't hesitate in staying here again and would highly recommend.
Paul & Elaine Rossiter

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElaineRossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We always try to accomodate all our guests requests regarding early check in and are pleased that we could help this time. Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at The Saracen's Head in March 2014. Overall, very impressed. Looks recently refurbished and its been done really well. I've read some reviews stating that the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. This couldn't be farther from the truth, everyone was completely the opposite.

The room itself, whilst small, was very nice and perfect for our needs.

In common with the rest of Towcester (I'm led to believe), don't expect anything in the way of late night drinking.... :-)

One minor niggle, just pointed out by my better half, was that the breakfast although very nice was a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for one night on a Friday and found all the staff really helpful, from the girls behind the bar letting us try a sample of the different ales (we are from 'up North after all),the two girls in the restaurant (Charlotte was one) and the other girl who went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our meal. Mixed grill by the way; great! Followed by chocolate brownie and the cheese board; compliments to the chef that night!
Martin, the Assistant Manager kindly printed off our £5 food and drink voucher for signing up, and left it on our reserved table; nice touch.
The room was finished to a high standard, very warm and cosy, powerful shower and with a huge bed and enough coffee, tea, and hot chocolate to last through the stay. (Premier listening?)
Great breakfast and welcome from Charlotte again (doesn't anyone go home?).
Thanks again for all your efforts.

Room Tip: room 15 backing onto car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isteam54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your overwhelming feedback. Your comments will be passed on to our valuable team members and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
3.7 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,422 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
9.2 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
306 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
9.5 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Property: The Saracens Head Hotel
Address: 219 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel Towcester, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing