We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for all the family”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Towcester, Northamptonshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jennycrye...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for all the family”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

There were four of us from 3 years old to 86 and we all enjoyed it.
The accommodation was excellent. Clean, spacious and all you need.
The children's play area was excellent and very safe.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your comments, I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you and all the family back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie R
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A fantastic girlie weekend - the 4 of us were celebrating a special birthday and have been friends for very many years. We had a fabulous time in this wonderful cottage. Would recommend to anyone. It was great thank you very much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was such high quality
Liked least: no bath mat in bathroom or en suite shower which were both slippy.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Dear Maggie
Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay in Rats Retreat cottage and I am so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay.
I do hope you are able to come and stay with us again in the future.
Best wishes
Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hils-Llan...
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from an amazing girlie 3 night stay at this amazing converted barn. The Rats Retreat is an amazing 3 bed, 2 bathroom 2 floor accommodation, which ticks every box. Very luxurious, bright, clean and modern with everything you need for a break away. Will definitely visit again

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you all to stay in Rats Retreat and I am delighted that you will return again.
Best wishes
Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTB1981
Hayle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I manage a Care Home and booked this accommodation for 2 of our residents to stay in on their holiday. The 2 staff members that accompanied them phoned me as soon as they arrived to tell me how beautiful the property was and how impressed they were with the standard and quality of the accommodation.

The accommodation seemed well suited for 2 adults with learning disabilities that are both able to mobilise well.

I received very positive feedback about this property and would hesitate to book it again for another holiday.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that you residents and staff were impressed with Rats Retreat cottage and I look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Rats Retreat. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and that you found it to be clean and comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing