We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Towcester, Northamptonshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
100861
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Myself, husband, 4 children and Boris the dog, stayed for all of January. Some awful cold and windy weather during our stay but we were toasty and warm in Rats retreat. The cottage was spotlessly clean. It was ample size to fit us all in comfortably with enough utensils etc.
The wild life was an added bonus. There was a friendly peacock who knocked on the door for crushed cornflakes! The barn owl showed every night to fly over the lake. The foxes played on the lawn. Amazing.
We’ve already booked to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2018
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am delighted that you and your family had such a good stay in Rats Retreat and that you enjoyed our wildlife!
I look forward to welcoming you all back on your next visit. Best wishes Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty2120...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find.”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Looked for a place we could get our family together for a pre-Christmas get-together in Northamptonshire. We have a daughter in Northampton and brother in Towcester so Tove Valley and the Rats Retreat was an inspired find with accommodation for my wife and I our daughter and mother with our brother popping over for the day. Rats Retreat offers excellent accommodation with 3 bedrooms, one en suite and an open living area with full kitchen. Heating is inclusive and kept the property very warm. On request we were given the option of a small barbeque (out of season) and supplied with a bbq bag which we did not expect but was very welcome. Overall a very delightful stay, a lovely property which exceeded our expectations. Victoria was an excellent host and we could not have asked for more. Will return again when visiting the area in future and trying out another of the various cottages on site..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review Martin. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations! I was more than happy to support your request for the BBQ and you were also very pleasant and welcome guests, we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes Victoria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Well worth a visit in the area to stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was a ideal property to stay in Towcester near the race course for our nieces wedding and easy access to the M1 moter way and wonderfull country side to explore and walk

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Rats Retreat and I am thrilled that you had a lovely stay for a very special occasion. As you say, the countryside in South Northamptonshire is lovely with many places to visit and explore. Hopefully you will be able to return on another occasion and can stay with us again. Best wishes Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Nov 2016
Thanks so much for your great review, so pleased you had such an enjoyable get away. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for Christmas!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jennycrye...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for all the family”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

There were four of us from 3 years old to 86 and we all enjoyed it.
The accommodation was excellent. Clean, spacious and all you need.
The children's play area was excellent and very safe.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your comments, I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you and all the family back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie R
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A fantastic girlie weekend - the 4 of us were celebrating a special birthday and have been friends for very many years. We had a fabulous time in this wonderful cottage. Would recommend to anyone. It was great thank you very much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was such high quality
Liked least: no bath mat in bathroom or en suite shower which were both slippy.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Dear Maggie
Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay in Rats Retreat cottage and I am so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay.
I do hope you are able to come and stay with us again in the future.
Best wishes
Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hils-Llan...
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from an amazing girlie 3 night stay at this amazing converted barn. The Rats Retreat is an amazing 3 bed, 2 bathroom 2 floor accommodation, which ticks every box. Very luxurious, bright, clean and modern with everything you need for a break away. Will definitely visit again

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you all to stay in Rats Retreat and I am delighted that you will return again.
Best wishes
Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;