We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many stays and never a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great hotel with brilliant staff and a lovely breakfast!
Have stayed here many times as have family living locally. Ideal base for us.
Stayed in family rooms, twin room and doubles. Most rooms have been great, a couple in need of updating.
Great evening meal and comfy lounge areas, bar and snug areas too!
Will definitely use over and over when visiting!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vixyvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Vixyvix
Many thanks for you fabulous review. I am delighted to read that you stay with us on a regular basis and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Call the hotel direct for the lowest rate guaranteed.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Whisker73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our third stay here and this was every bit as good as the previous two. The rooms are excellent and twice we have been allocated the room with the spa bath and four poster bed. Breakfast is excellent as is the carvery in the evening. When we were there last time, vouchers were available for discounts of the cost of dinner. Make sure you get one before you eat! The location for visiting the south coast is excellent and the village of Bramber is worth a walk round. With its lovely hanging baskets and gardens it is a very pretty place. The staff are all very helpful and go out of their way to deal with any issues that arise. A lovely hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Hibby
We value our guests comments and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experiences for both dinner and breakfast in the Restaurant. The vouchers you mentioned are available on our website and you can book direct by calling on 01903 879494.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Brighton with parking but it was almost impossible to find one which could guarantee a parking space without paying up to £25 extra per day, so we started to look just outside and settled on the Old Tollgate in Bramber.
It was a lovely surprise to find a real character hotel with spacious modern bedrooms and of course parking spaces really close to the room all only 10/15 minutes from Brighton.
Everything was very good but the breakfast was exceptional - probably the best cooked breakfast we have ever had, with a huge selection of more healthy fruit and cereals.
We would certainly stay again if ever in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road will give more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Ian M
Many thanks for taking the time to post your 5* review. We always appreciate receiving our guests feedback and in particular I would like to thank you for mentioning our close proximity to Brighton and of course the free car parking. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Old Tollgate and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our first visit to a Best Western Hotel in what you might call the ‘budget range’ as our normal ports of call are Premier Inns. We were visiting friends in Worthing so the location was good for us.

The bedroom was clean, comfortable and warm, although it faced the road, there was little or no traffic noise. Which made for a good nights sleep. The extra touches in the room like the mini bar, safe, and bottled water were nice.
The food in the restaurant was very good, and with the excellent breakfast/room package it made for really good value.

The only downside was the water pressure in the bathroom, it took the loo cistern an age to fill and the shower was poor, with the temperature difficult to regulate. The fixing of the loo roll holders next to, and just below, the level of the washbasin seemed a bit strange as any water that slashed out of the basin landed on the loo roll.

All the staff were very polite and helpful, and the service in the restaurant was spot on. We will definitely use this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Ruthsdad
I am delighted to read that you were pleased with the in room facilities and found your stay to be excellent value, I will however ask our maintenance team to check the bathroom as per your comments. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Second visit, lovely location, very clean, spa in room a treat, staff very friendly (a very chatty chef), food what you would expect. We ate in restaurant facing front I think and not as nice, lighting very bright and not cosy at all. Breakfast lovely, cater to all needs. Would go back as it not far for an overnight treat in nice part of Sussex

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Karen M
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I shall pass your comments to our restaurant manager regarding the lighting in one of the dining rooms. We hope to see you on your next visit to the area.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
391 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,707 reviews
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
19.7 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham District > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range: £62 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing