We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from a family wedding which took place here.
Although we only live 20 mins away we decided to stay over instead of taxi both ways - hotel worked out cheaper !
The entire wedding was taken care of by the hotel ,right down to the disco in the evening.
We were very impressed with the whole day ,food was excellent ,really nice local beer on tap,breakfast was top class and our room was very good value and we both slept very well.
Just a small gripe to the management though - bathroom in 205 is looking a bit shabby ! ,but perfectly clean and adequate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank aybn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear aybn41
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding held here at The Old Tollgate. We appreciate your comments and I would like to assure you that we are in the process of updating some of the bathrooms.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

The room was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. We did arrrived late into the evening so didnt get an opportunity to enjoy dinner at the hotel. The standard of the room was very good. Book a superior room at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Geoff A
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Old Tollgate. We hope to welcome you back again soon - please check our website for the latetest special offers or call direct on 01903 879494.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Enjoyed a superb carvery lunch with 7 friends today. £15 for two courses was excellent value (not sure if this was a special Christmas offer). With a large selection of starter dishes, a choice of superbly cooked roast pork, turkey, ham and beef, all the trimmings, a good selection of vegetables, plus a great variety of desserts, we were all very impressed. Not only that, there was plenty of choice for the vegetarian in our party. The staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. I was particularly impressed by the highly efficient system of staff ready to carry the hot plates and escort each diner back to their table. Will definitely eat at the Old Tollgate again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Christine G
Many thanks for your 'EXCELLENT' review - we hope to see you back again very soon. Check our website for our latest special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A good start with ample parking and a friendly welcome at reception.
We booked a quiet room and were given the front corner room overlooking the road and entrance. We should have asked to be moved but it was late when we arrived and we were keen to find somewhere to eat. Ironically it wasn't the road noise that gave us a sleepless night. The bed was very squeaky and woke us up several times during the night. We were aware of other guests leaving early in the morning, but will never know if they would have woken us up.
The restaurant only does Carvery which didn't appeal so we headed into Steyning to find an evening meal. The Carvery was popular with other guests.
Breakfast the next morning was very poor. The sausage has to be singled out as inedible and the coffee was not much better. I was concerned by the plates of sliced cooked meat stacked on the right as we entered the dining room. That nights Carvery???
On check out the staff were again very friendly and polite.
In summary:
Very bad nights sleep and very bad breakfast.
Good location, good parking and good staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear s m
Thank you for posting your review and I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay. Your comments are extremely valuable in helping us to exceed our customers expectations. We would have beeen very happy to offer you an alternative breakfast if you had brought your dis-satisfaction to our attention as we do not want our guests to leave unhappy. Please contact me personally on your next visit and I will ensure you have a complimentary upgrade. You can contact me on 01903 879494.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is in the beautiful olde-worlde village of Bramber, on the edge of the South Downs National Park.
The rooms are very good with comfortable beds and excellent en-suite facilities. There is a very good restaurant serving well-cooked breakfasts and evening meals, and even cream teas in the afternoons.
We live in the adjacent village of Upper Beeding, and when family and friends visit they always stay here if we run out of room in our small bungalow. We've never had a bad comment from anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are away from the road, although there is not much noise as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crathiegirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear crathiegirl
Thank you for positing your positive review. I am delighted to read that your guests enjoy their stay here and we shall look forward to many more visits in the near future.
very best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

First time at this hotel. Pretty easy to find using satnav. On check-in, asked immediately if i'd stayed here before and the lady showed me how to find my part of the hotel (as its split over a few buildings on the site) whilst also explaining the restaurant for dinner and breakfast (on a DBB rate). Superior room with a small bathroom. Bedroom was fine but the tv had freeview but only a few channels of freeview. Bathroom could have been designed better, with the toilet shoe-horned in the small space between basin and shower cubicle (smaller basin area would create the extra space) with meant basically you had one elbow against the cubicle and the other on the basin.

Was surprised that the dinner was carvery based, but was decent quality produce so can't complain, and breakfast was good with nice thick bacon.

Small bar area, but at least a hotel that bothers to serve a real ale on handpump. If only more would do that it would make traveling on business better with a decent pint.

Staff were great, and plenty of them as the carvery was very busy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear jon_hall
Many thanks for taking the time to write your positive review. I am delighted to read that you found your stay to be comfortable and enjoyed your dining experience and our locally sourced real ale.I shall pass your comments to all the staff. Hope to see you back again soon. Check our website for special offers.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
392 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,708 reviews
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
8.2 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
355 reviews
3.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Henfield
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham District > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range: £62 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing