We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 3 Night Break After New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely 3 Night Break After New Year”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we had a very relaxing 3 night break after Christmas and New Year. We had a very comfortable, large room with a power shower in the Sunnycroft adjacent block. The staff without exception, were helpful, efficient and cheerful. Our booking was for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, which was very good and excellent value for money. the hotel is very well placed to explore the area, close to Brighton and spent a day mooching around Lewes. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear welshdragongirl
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. Our guests feedback is extremely important to us and helps in our efforts to exceed expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Please check our website for our latest special offers.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    201
    58
    22
    6
See reviews for
100
296
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oundle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

a perfect place for the week between Christmas and New Year with festive decor. Modern rooms in an adjacent block, large bathroom with a bath and power shower and unusual for a British Hotel - a bidet. there was a very hot towel rail to warm the bathroom and a magnifying mirror above the sink, the bedroom was warm and welcoming but the window frame was not well fitted and let the storm blow in. the best bit about our stay was the Carvery evening meal. superb meats and alternative dishes with a huge selection of starters and desserts.free car parking and quiet location. although the Hotel seemed full, there were no delays with bar service/plenty of servers in the dining room and at reception/check out. This is the first hotel we have stayed in that actually lets you re-use the bath towels as per the BW Environmental Policy

Room Tip: be warned the cockrel starts about 6 a.m but hey you are next door to a small farmholding as Bramber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear deb k
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Please check our own website for our latest special offers.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Old Tollgate is a very nice hotel in the beautiful little village of Bramber. I paid £66.- for a superior room with breakfast , booked the day before and found the price very good for the quality you get. Comfortable room , new bathroom and very good English breakfast. Free Wifi too.
I am sure an even cheaper price can be found when booking earlier.
I always come back to this hotel when staying in the area and can highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Man25
Thank you for your excellent review. We shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please check our website for our latest special offers or call the hotel direct on 01903 879494.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on Xmas Eve and missed dinner . We asked for sandwiches in our room which were delivered quickly and were delicious. Xmas day was fab a lovely breakfast and a fabulous lunch. The staff at this hotel are exceptional they are friendly attentive and remember your name. We spent 4 nights here and couldn't fault it .we would definitely stay again and reccommend it highly

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Helen P
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay with us over the Christmas period. Our prices for this year are already on the website. We hope to see you again soon. Please check our website for our latest special offers or call the hotel direct on 01903 879494.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Old Tollgate was a huge success for our Christmas lunch party. The table looked most attractive with crackers and the dining room had been beautifully decorated to give a lovely Christmas feel. Although the restaurant was full service was excellent. Most of us went for a starter and main course (£15.00 for 2 courses) with a wide selection on both. An extra nice touch was that having chosen your meal the very hot plates are taken to the table for you. This has been by far one of our most successful venues and we will be returning in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carson a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear carson a
Many thanks for taking the time to write your 'superb' review. I am delighted to read that your Christmas lunch was successful and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please check our website for our latest special offers or call the hotel direct on 01903 879494.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from a family wedding which took place here.
Although we only live 20 mins away we decided to stay over instead of taxi both ways - hotel worked out cheaper !
The entire wedding was taken care of by the hotel ,right down to the disco in the evening.
We were very impressed with the whole day ,food was excellent ,really nice local beer on tap,breakfast was top class and our room was very good value and we both slept very well.
Just a small gripe to the management though - bathroom in 205 is looking a bit shabby ! ,but perfectly clean and adequate.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aybn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear aybn41
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding held here at The Old Tollgate. We appreciate your comments and I would like to assure you that we are in the process of updating some of the bathrooms.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The room was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. We did arrrived late into the evening so didnt get an opportunity to enjoy dinner at the hotel. The standard of the room was very good. Book a superior room at no extra cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Geoff A
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Old Tollgate. We hope to welcome you back again soon - please check our website for the latetest special offers or call direct on 01903 879494.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing