We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Romantic Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Romantic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in one of the four poster rooms with spa bath. Room was clean, good sized and very cosy. We received a friendly welcome on arrival. Ended up eating in a lovely chinese restaurant just down the road. We have eaten at the carvery previously and were really impressed but fancied something a bit different on this occasion. The breakfast was fab, hot food all tasted fresh and not like at some hot buffets were it tastes like it has sat around for hours. Booking online in advance was simple and easy. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank punky82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear punky82
Many thanks for taking the time to post your 5* review. It is always good to hear our customer feedback which helps us in our efforts to exceed our guests expectations. Please check our website for our best available rates and latest special offers.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    193
    50
    21
    6
See reviews for
92
287
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Good value hotel with pleasant staff, good breakfast (but get there early), clean rooms, comfortable bed and lots of hot water. 3rd time we have stayed, and standards have been maintained. Easy to book on website, quick, simple check-in and out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank hollandNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear hollandNorthDevon
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us again. As a regular guest may I suggest that you check our website for our best available rates.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here in November, the second time we have stayed here. The staff are friendly and the food, although buffet style and not to everyones liking, is great and is good value. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sarah S
Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. Please check our website for our latest special offers and we hope to see you again in the near future.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for the New Year and had a thoroughly good time! This was a special themed package (Rat Pack), which included a cocktail on arrival, a 6 course meal, dancing to late and breakfast. After the soup and entree, we were given haggis which was piped in by a Highland Piper. This was followed by a carvery with lots of choice, but too much to finish, if you were greedy. Just before midnight, the piper also led everyone along the street and we ended up with a "wee dram" and fireworks. Finally, we danced into the early hours! Unfortunatey, the weather was atrocious but that didn't spoil the fun too much!
The staff were tremendous the whole time and would not hesitate to help you with a smile! (Well done Maggie!)
On the negative side, the shower in our room had little pressure and the temperature was not constant - just being picky!
We would definitely go back, even if it was just for the Sunday carvery.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room in the annex as they are newer and less noisy, if a party is going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Barrie T
It was a pleasure to welcome you all back again this year. I am delighted that you enjoyed our New Year Celebrations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
my very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we had a very relaxing 3 night break after Christmas and New Year. We had a very comfortable, large room with a power shower in the Sunnycroft adjacent block. The staff without exception, were helpful, efficient and cheerful. Our booking was for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, which was very good and excellent value for money. the hotel is very well placed to explore the area, close to Brighton and spent a day mooching around Lewes. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdragongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear welshdragongirl
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. Our guests feedback is extremely important to us and helps in our efforts to exceed expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Please check our website for our latest special offers.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oundle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

a perfect place for the week between Christmas and New Year with festive decor. Modern rooms in an adjacent block, large bathroom with a bath and power shower and unusual for a British Hotel - a bidet. there was a very hot towel rail to warm the bathroom and a magnifying mirror above the sink, the bedroom was warm and welcoming but the window frame was not well fitted and let the storm blow in. the best bit about our stay was the Carvery evening meal. superb meats and alternative dishes with a huge selection of starters and desserts.free car parking and quiet location. although the Hotel seemed full, there were no delays with bar service/plenty of servers in the dining room and at reception/check out. This is the first hotel we have stayed in that actually lets you re-use the bath towels as per the BW Environmental Policy

Room Tip: be warned the cockrel starts about 6 a.m but hey you are next door to a small farmholding as Bramber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear deb k
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Please check our own website for our latest special offers.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Old Tollgate is a very nice hotel in the beautiful little village of Bramber. I paid £66.- for a superior room with breakfast , booked the day before and found the price very good for the quality you get. Comfortable room , new bathroom and very good English breakfast. Free Wifi too.
I am sure an even cheaper price can be found when booking earlier.
I always come back to this hotel when staying in the area and can highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Man25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Man25
Thank you for your excellent review. We shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please check our website for our latest special offers or call the hotel direct on 01903 879494.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.2 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
18.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing