We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY HOTEL IN PRETTY VILLAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOTEL IN PRETTY VILLAGE”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2-night stay at your hotel for my husband's birthday. We booked a superior room which was lovely. The hotel is located in a delightful village which has a couple of pubs and an excellent Indian and Chinese restaurant. We took the local bus into Brighton one day, which took about an hour. The village has colourful flowering baskets everywhere and it was lovely to walk around in the glorious sunshine. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was excellent each morning and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an excellent hotel in a quiet location - perfect!!!

Room Tip: We chose a superior room 302 and it was situated in the building next to the main hotel which was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
What a fabulous review, thank you. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we shall hopefully see you again in the near future. Please check our website for our latest special offers.
best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    201
    58
    22
    6
See reviews for
100
296
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margency-france
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

nice place to stay; picturesque village; nice hotel with old wodden frame works; beautifull garden; good breakfast ; good rooms; reception ok without excess...parking facilities; good access from main roads...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to your liking. Please check our website for our latest special offers.
best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed two nights as part of a wedding group. Room very nice and clean and good modern bathroom. Bed was a bit too soft for my liking but still slept ok. Had a room at the front that was quite noisy due to traffic (especially the very frequent double decker buses) as we had to have the window open all the time; as this is the UK there is no air conditioning which meant the room was very warm.
Facilities at the hotel are very good, great staff and service, breakfast and the wedding meal very good standard for a carvery. I do not care for carvery myself but this is the top end with very good meat and vegetables.
Hotel is in a nice setting, Bramber Castle is only a short 5 minute climb away and Steyning can be reached on foot in 20 minutes.
Would recommend staying here, just not in a room at the front.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George35WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We value our guests comments and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding you attended here at the hotel. Regarding your comments about the road noise, we are in the process of installing double glazing to all our bedrooms and this will be finished in the very near future. We hope to see you again soon.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed for one night. The room was a decent size as was the bed which was very comfortable. The room including the bathroom was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. There is ample car parking space. Breakfast was plentiful and varied in choice. The evening meal is a carvery and, personally speaking not my ideal way to have a meal, however the dining room was almost full and there were a number of people who are regulars so that speaks volumes if you don't mind carveries! On balance I would stay at this hotel again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris-rosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for your very complimentary review. We do have a lounge menu as an alternative to the carvery which has some excellent dishes to choose from - welll worth a try.
Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just spent two nights at The Old Tollgate. We were thrilled with the room it was beautifully decorated very comfortable with the quietest and very efficient air conditioning ever. The staff were never seen but everything was done to the highest standard.
The restaurant was busy and there were plenty of staff around to clear plates. The food was fantastic and excellent value. My husband was thrilled with all the small things that matter to him being here, Grapefruit juice to drink and grapefruit segments, small Danish pastrys, doors that shut quietly and did not slam. The tray in the room had all fair trade bits, decent shortbread biscuits, the staff were happy to give us a teapot to make tea in, fridge in the room. Fantastic powerful shower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Rachel B
Many thanks for your 5* comments. We really appreciate our guests feedback and it is extremely encouraging to read reviews such as yours. I am delighted that your experience in both the Restautrant and Hotel was an enjoyable one. We hope to see you back again soon and please, check our own website for our latest special offers and best available rates.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing