We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Algotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
halfpint512013
Larkfield, United Kingdom

Great room and cooked breakfast shared with our friends

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024
Looking for a hotel for a group booking in the future for about 20 of us and having previously stayed thought this was a good hotel. It is and we had a lovely weekend and ready to come back next year with our group. Plenty to do in the area and a great hotel to retire to. Room 201 great
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£100
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£122
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £96
  • Hotels.com
    £122
1.9 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £28
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Outside
ZenHotels.com
£55
  • Lol.travel
4.2 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £55
  • Hotels.com
4.1 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
4.2 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.0 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.8 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.7 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.6 miles from The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bramber
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
653
317
104
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
653
317
104
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main course self service lovely hotel carvery restaurant jacuzzi bath beef evening meal pretty village good size plenty of parking lovely breakfast room was spacious four poster bramber castle short break south coast walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2024

This is the second time we have stayed here in one of their 2 amazing jacuzzi rooms. Such great rooms for the price and a nice mix of old and modern décor. Yes it is very sad and not great to hear the restaurant had closed, the hotel informed us straight away and gave us the new options.

We loved the cooked breakfast here and having it as room service so were a little worried about the breakfast being continental and also not room service. On arrival I asked if I could come down and grab some breakfast in the morning, not only did they offer room service to have it brought up to us they even mage us and printed off a menu to pick things from, that is what I call going the extra mile, very impressed.

I would highly recommend this hotel, I am sure they will have a new restaurant and bar open in no time at all, it has so much potential.

Room tip: get room 220 with the Jaquzzi in th emain building!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2024

Dear lukesX2722RK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our jacuzzi room once again and appreciate your kind words.

We understand the closure of the restaurant was disappointing, however we are truly grateful you appreciate the transparency and new options we presented and that our staff was able to go the extra mile by offering room service and even creating a special menu for you! This is exactly what we strive for - exceeding expectations and making our guests feel truly valued.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon and create another memorable experience. Please don't hesitate to reach out directly if you have any questions or requests during your next visit.

Thank you again for choosing our The Tollgate and for your wonderful review.

Best Regards

The Tollgate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024

What’s happening? No staff, no atmosphere, no restaurant or bar.
Unfortunately The Old Tollgate has quickly become a shadow of its former self. A glorified B&B guesthouse. The restaurant side has completely gone. No bar, no lunch or evening meals. The rooms are still okay, some very nice but now over priced. The breakfast that is included is poor. Gone has the full English, good choice of various fruits, yogurts, cereals and porridge to an Englishman’s attempt at a continental breakfast. A slice of smoked salmon and a couple of slices of cheap packet ham. No breakfast staff on hand to welcome guests, used tables not cleared and have to ask for choices to be refilled, orange juice, croissants and coffee.
We have been staying here for 7/8 years, back in the Best Western days but this will be our last time. Thank you and goodbye.

Room tip: Look elsewhere, no restaurant.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpyBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2024

Dear GrumpyBaz,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and your loyalty to The Tollgate. We understand your disappointment with the current offerings, which differ from your past experiences.

While we recognise the inconvenience this causes, these decisions were essential for the hotel's long-term sustainability.

Your feedback regarding the breakfast options and service have been noted. We're actively working to improve the current continental breakfast to include more variety and ensure proper staff presence. While a full English breakfast is not currently feasible, we are exploring alternative solutions.

If you're open to a future visit, we encourage you to check back for updates on our progress. We're confident that the improvements we're implementing will create a unique and enjoyable experience for all of our guests to enjoy.

Thank you for your understanding.

The Old Tollgate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024

we went for new years eve had to pre book well in advance. we were doing an overnight stay
they sent a menu which was not really what we wanted previous it had been a carvery which is really great.
when we arrived for the big night we were very disappointed the food you could not eat no choice of meals my daughter and partner don't eat lamb they gave them a medley of vegs
the lamb dinner we very under cooked lots of people we angry.
if I had knowledge of this before I booked I don't think I would have bothered.
a very disappointing evening.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Travel08916044943
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Dear Travel08916044943,

Thank you for bringing your recent New Year's Eve experience at our hotel to our attention. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our set menu option.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback, as it allows us to identify areas for improvement and ensure that future guests have a more enjoyable experience.

While we acknowledge that the food aspect fell short, we genuinely hope you enjoyed the entertainment and other aspects of the New Year's Eve celebration in which a lot of effort went into into creating a festive and memorable experience.

We value your custom and apologise once again for the inconvenience caused.

Should you have any further feedback or wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best Regards

The Tollgate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Overall good stay. We were travelling with our small dog and so we're given a dog friendly room which seemed basic compared to previous stays sans dog. TV remote did not work properly, cleaning staff should check this daily. Beds were not serviced by maid and room not tidied after first night . Room got very hot overnight almost stuffy even with the heater off. I don't know if anyone else has mentioned this but the breakfast tomatoes tasted of fish both mornings, no tomato taste at all. Chef was happy to cook vegetarian sausage but then left them off the hotplate so they were cold. Snug off restaurant was draughty when we chose to go for an evening drink and not very well organised furniture in there plus needed a clean.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Dear 282maiak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at The Tollgate.

We're so pleased to read that you had an overall good experience and especially appreciate you bringing our attention to the areas where we fell short.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as it helps us identify opportunities to improve the guest experience for everyone.

We do apologise for the shortcomings in our housekeeping service and breakfast buffet, we have addressed this with our housekeeping team.

We have replaced our cooked breakfast with a more continental style which we hope you will enjoy should you wish to visit us again.

Should you have any further concerns or suggestions, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly.

We hope to welcome you all again.

Best Regards

The Tollgate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2023 via mobile

We have just stayed for 2 nights on the Christmas Package. Arrived 24th until 26th.
Have stayed here several times before when Best Western. We believe it is now privately run. This time we requested a favorite room which we were kindly allocated. The place is very cosy and all staff are friendly and helpful. Particular thanks to the wonderful ladies on reception who sorted a couple of small issues in our room (light bulb and hairdryer) extremely fast.
Christmas lunch was really enjoyable, everyone went to.a big effort to ensure all guests enjoyed the day. Breakfast was very good selection with something for every taste and requested poached eggs perfection.
Only one or two things would have greatly improved the 2 evening buffets. Disposable plates and wooden cutlery were not the best or easiest for Christmas Eve and also nothing on hot or cold counters were actually labelled so we had no idea what each dish was. Were eventually able to find someone to ask who was very helpful and informed us.
Breakfast juices also a bit of guesswork.
Lovely carvery for 25th lunch, good selection of meats and vegetables.
Thanks to Mason who made sure we had nice fresh coffee with our 26th breakfast and kept very cheerful even though he was really busy and had worked the previous day. Thanks to all the team for a very good Christmas break and we will definately return again soon.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CandSTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate McIntyre, General Manager at The Tollgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

Dear CandSTravelBugs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your recent Christmas package stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a very good experience overall and that you will be returning to see us soon.

Your kind words about our cosy atmosphere, friendly staff, and delicious meals are truly appreciated. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your room, and we're grateful to our wonderful reception team for promptly resolving the minor issues you encountered.

We take pride in our personalised service, and Mason's dedication to providing excellent service during a busy period is a shining example of our team's commitment to guest satisfaction.

We understand that disposable plates and wooden cutlery may not be the ideal choice for such a special occasion, and we acknowledge that clear labelling of the dishes would have greatly improved the experience.

Thank you again and wishing you a very healthy and happy New Year!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards

The Tollgate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews