We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gothic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gothic House
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for just one night, but loved it. we were in the Cromwell room, as the back so no street noise and because it's a 14th century building and therefore has a quirky layout, no noise (water cisterns, door bangin etc) from the other two rooms either. Lovely blue and white decor with a huge bay window overlooking the churchyard. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotlessly clean, with hand soap,shower gel, shampoo and conditioner all provided. Plenty of tea/coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room and when we asked if we could have some Earl Grey they gave us six teabags and told us to let them know if we needed more! The floor was a bit uneaven and creaky, as was the bed, but it all addd to the quaintness and charm of the place. TV, wifi, haridryer, everything you need. Very friendly staff too. The rooms are over a coffee shop/bar, CJ's, which offers tapas style food. Unfortunately we were there on a Monday and they close at 7.00pm on Mondays and Tuesdays, so we didn't get to sample the food, but we did have time to sit out on the roof level decking (smokers to the left of you, non-smokers to the right was much appreciated), with a glass of wine surrounded by olive trees in pots, grapevines overhead, and again with views over the churchyard. A very peaceful and tranquil setting. The full english breakfast served down in CJ's the next morning was fine, nothing special, but tasty enough and for £65 B & B, very acceptable. We did have one issue which was that the toilet cistern took an age, and I mean an age to fill, so could only be used once every couple of hours, but my husband had a look and fixed it fairly easily so we didn't mention it. Hopefully, it's still working well! This place is certainly worth staying at if ever you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nician96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
32
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived early, but this was handled well and much to our satisfaction.
The room was clean, comfortable all that you could ask.
Breakfast was delicious if only we had had time to stay for some Tapas, maybe next time.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We'll be back

Room Tip: Choose the Cromwell room as it is at the back of the property and does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troed-y-rhiw, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Looking forward to staying at this 4* b&b since booking it several week ago. Got to the hotel and booked in and when it came to the payment it went downhill. £210 for 2 nights we decided to pay cash but the young man behind the bar couldn't take it. Bemused we enquired why so he started to flap and asked what we think must have been one of the owners who straight away told us its to do with things in the room being broken, curry splashed on the wall etc etc.... Straight away we felt uncomfortable with this comment. Then she asked if we had any other cards with any money on and how much was on them??? Who asks that and especially to a customer? We ended up having to goto the bank to pay the money back in to sort this out. We also offered her one of our bank details in case we decided to smash the room up or throw curry on the walls but she didn't want to know. Once sorted we were shown up to the sacksville suite but not before having to avoid the painting going on in the hallway (do it in the morning before guests arrive??) which had a nice big shower, free standing bath and four poster bed. But besides these items we couldn't see how this place has 4 star rating? .... 2 stars at the most.

Decided to have a drink before bed from the lovely chipped ikea cups with the tea set that best befitting a holiday Inn... And none of our clothes entered the cupboard due to a lovely fusty smell.....

Frustrating if it wasn't for the awkward hassle at the start then this would have been a pleasant stay... We enjoyed a nice full English in the morning with coffee and orange juice and available cereal if we wanted but overall it didn't live upto it's 4 stars...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We booked in for a Saturday night stay before going to a Sunday Christening about 10 miles away. Finding the location was difficult on a dark wet Saturday evening, and as there was no parking available in the high street, we found the public pay and display up church street, where we had to pay £1.20 to take us up to the free overnight tariff. A 5 minute walk down a poorly lit street brought us to the High Street, where we found CJ's cafe bar and our rooms. When shown to our room it was very cold, as the radiator was set on "frost stat" setting. We had been told that an early Sunday Breakfast was no problem (our Christening was at 09:30) but breakfast in the cafe bar did not start until 9.00 am, too late for us, so we settled for a continental breakfast tray which was left outside our room. Cornflakes, milk and orange juice, and two pastries.
We had a very pleasant meal in CJ's cafe bar downstairs on Saturday night, where it was warm, whilst our room warmed up having reset the thermostat. The bed was comfortable, and as the Cromwell Room is at the rear of the building, overlooking the churchyard, we had a quiet night. I enjoyed a hot shower in the morning, but shortly afterwards the power to the lighting circuit failed, so making the internal bathroom a local black hole!
Overall we enjoyed our stay, but a good map to find the place would be helpful, as would more information about meal times at weekends. Our continental breakfast was basic for the rating of the establishment, and a heated room would have been more welcoming on first arrival. I guess the lighting failure was unfortunate and unplanned.

Room Tip: The Cromwell Room is small, but quiet, being at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grekophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Cromwell room and again, had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

There is a seperate entrance to the b and b accommodation from the street, or you can go through the coffee bar down below that has a lovely ambience and I can certainly recommend. We didn't eat there but e food we saw looked good.

Room was lovely, if a little cold upon first arrival. The whole place is well decorated, cozy and charming.

Staff are brilliant, and it says a lot that many of them are the same staff from when we last stayed in August 2011. One very helpful lady was invaluable after I'd rather stupidly locked myself out of the room.

As always, breakfast was spot on.

Thanks for another brilliant stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Had booked a standard double room for one night while my son was in hospital,on arrival we found out we were upgraded free of charge for what ever reason.The room was fabulous and we couldnt fault it,but as the evening went on we got colder and colder,spoke to someone about this and they did come to the room straight away and sorted it out,breakfast the next morning was great,the host was very helpful in prebooking a room if I needed another night for a long while but in the twin room which we did need,i really couldnt fault any of the staff for there genuine care and concern,the only fault we could find was the rooms were cold,and i really think that if the curtains were shorter the heat would get into the rooms better.But overall I would stay again for the lovely decor and lovely staff.I enjoyed my stay but would of been better if not under such stressful situations

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulatandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

What a gem in the middle of East Grinstead. The downstairs bar was heaving and although our fear was that it might be noisy later in the evening this was not at all the case. The Sackville Room was just what we wanted, plenty of room beautifully decorated & as usual the the staff very attentive particularly the lovely Josh who, if I was still in catering, I would have head hunted!!! A credit to the owners of Gothic House.
Breakfast was brilliant especially on Sunday when my smoked salmon & scambled eggs was to die for, well done Josh!
Looking forward to our next visit but what a shame you are fully booked at the end on November!
See you SOON!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demelza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic House

Property: Gothic House
Address: 55 High Street, East Grinstead RH19 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gothic House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gothic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gothic House East Grinstead, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing